You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's the best way to create a Poll on the STEEM Network...?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Hmm interestnig, I kinda thought there's already some UI/platform for this which is somehow connected to Steem. Well as you're saying, voting for comments option has the big con of "wasting" voting power and minnows can't set vote to partial in native Steemit UI.

Soo IMO you should deffo go with the second option. You could set the rules strict that only comments in specific format are going to be accepted. And write some tiny script which will do the calculations for you. You're dev urself soo it shouldnt be a problem. Just a script which checks your posts with specific name (u say u want to do it weekly so I guess name would follow some pattern) and parses comments and counts the votes. Should be pretty straightforward task with steem-python. And yeah, people will get notifications, but they're the "positive" notifs soo I guess they'll get over it :D

Just my opinion tho :)

Sort:  

Yes, there's https://dpoll.xyz but it only allows for a single choice. That's a problem.

Thanks for your comment, I'm starting to feel the same. Asking for upvotes, even at 1%, is not good for the newbies.

I am a developer, yes, but I never tried python... and unfortunately, the PC I have at home is not practical for programming. I'm using it as a Multimedia Station for my TV.

Hmmm so you have to stay couple of hours after work and do it in the office :D it's interesting how older devs (I mean...35+ or so) don't find python interesting. My uncle is a C++ guy and he totally dismisses python haaha :D I guess u r also 35+ or? My whole thesis is in Python :)

I don't know if it's interesting or not. I never tried it. You got it right, I am older than that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.15
ETH 2428.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65