It looks like steemians appreciate written content, not videos or links.

in #steem8 years ago

Among the top 100 posts, there isn't one single video or link-post.

I scrolled down the "trending" page with the intention of finding out how high a video or "link" reached. I gave up at 100, because there was none, which was enought to prove the point: Steemians appreciate written and original content.

Personally I keep an eye on the "created" page. When there are new posts, I just skip all videos and most of the links. Thinking about why, I came up with these reasons:

  1. Opening a separate link has a much higher cognitive cost. You have to switch to some external site with some loading time and intrusive popups. The cost is small but high enought to stop you from doing it.
  2. For watching a video you have to dedicate some time for it. You can't just glimpse at it to get a quick overview to decide whether it's worth your time. Knowing that intuitively imposes a cognitive cost, which often stops me from doing it at all.
  3. When I read a text, I can choose my own speed. I might skim some paragraphs, and stop upon something that requires thinking. You can't really do that with videos.
  4. Reading is much faster than watching to a video and listening to speach. Much faster.
  5. Images often convey the same information as videos. You can gaze at them as little or much as you like, then keep going. They load much faster. Static images are pleasant on the eye.
  6. Written content is usually original, which makes it more interesting.
  7. Posting a link or video is actually just telling that you like it. Just like upvoting. Telling everyone you like something isn't as valuable as creating value yourself.

It looks like Steem is working as intended to incentivize content and value creation. I like it.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95