You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For the First Time, I Might Be Losing Faith in Steem...

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

It may not be censorship in the strictest sense of the word, but in my opinion still acts as a proxy for that if it leads to less people seeing my content and 90% of my income being lost in a post with a single downvote. It's not much different to the adpocalypse on YouTube and all the demonetisation that occurred - which is why I came to be such a fan of Steem in the first place. To see the same thing over again here is immensely frustrating to say the least.

What's different about Steem and YouTube is that the latter is a monolith whereas everything is up for public debate on Steem. As you can see, this post you made seems to be on its way to being rewarded rather well for the points you made and the discussion you have sparked.

It isn't a one-off, as 3 of my posts in the past week have been downvoted and I've lost 90% of the rewards. The scary thing for me is that I have absolutely no idea how long this will last for. Is it gonna be a permanent thing? Am I effectively gonna lose half my income from now on?

That too, is up for debate. @ocdb is not controlled by some single asshole but a group of curators in charge of an account most of whose SP is delegated to it.

Steem has been very good to me, which I'm very appreciate of. But you have to ask - if a large crypto YouTuber can't make a great income on Steem, then who on earth can? And when you consider that 50% of rewards go to curators, I'm left with approx $15USD worth of rewards per post, often for videos that take 6-8 hours to produce. Is that excessive and worthy of being downvoted? In my personal opinion, no.

That depends also on what else is there on Steem competing for the same rewards. You crosspost most of your crypto posts from YouTube. I'm guessing you earn on YouTube, too. But yes, I do value your contributions, which is why I've had you on autovote for a long time and continue to comment on your videos.

If this type of excessive downvotes keep coming, I'm going to have to reconsider my delegations.

And just to clarify - I have made exclusive posts for Steem on multiple occasions.

I see.

And I have to pay a monthly fee to upload to @3Speak, which I'm more than happy to do. And I've made several videos about Steem that have led to adoption. So I absolutely consider myself someone who has invested a lot into this platform.

Your sweat equity spent on your videos is no doubt considerable. I've always found your content to be well-researched and very well thought-out. They have a lot of potential to drive traffic to Steem, which is why think they should continue to occupy the top positions among high-earning posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67462.12
ETH 2623.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67