Extremely Small Upvotes

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Image Credit

Has anyone else noticed that some of users have been giving extremely small upvotes lately? While there is nothing new to Steem having a very top heavy distribution of Steem Power and the vast majority of Steem users having not much more than the 15 SP delegated to them by Steemit, Inc, Steemit the user interface does not allow anyone to have a voting power slider unless they have at least 500 SP. This means that anyone having less than that will always vote at 100% of whatever voting power they have at the moment.

Some other front ends allow all users to have a slider. What I'm talking about is users with a tiny amount of SP using their sliders on some apps to upvote at a very small percentage of their current voting power. Like someone with 18 SP using their slider to upvote at 1%.

The lack of a slider for those users of Steemit with less than 500 SP is no accident. There is such a thing called the dust threshold which means that if a post or a comment is getting less than 0.02$ (Steen Token Units) at the time of payout, the payout will be zero and the rewards will go back to the pool. The dust threshold is slated to be discontinued in HardFork 20 scheduled to take place next month.

That said, many users give extremely small upvotes to posts that often, and always in the case of my posts, get much more than 0.02$ because I always upvote them myself with the about 2,600 SP that I have at my disposal. I'm grateful for every single upvote I get despite some of them being so small as to not amount to much financially. Those who give those tiny upvotes, however, might be doing themselves a much bigger favour - at least when upvoting users who have a decent amount of SP but who rarely get more upvotes than are easy to read in one glance. When you upvote people like that, you're effectively advertising yourself. I think that's just fine. In fact I find it vastly better than writing vacuous boilerplate comments and not upvoting my posts at all, or even worse, upvoting your own comments on top of that causing them to float upwards.

Sort:  

Hi markku. I have noticed that and it is weird how different users work and operate. I try and leave something that registers behind and hence struggling at 60 percent VP. I can't give someone 5% of 0.02 as I know it all adds up but also not very nice.

It's seems to me like a way to advertise yourself and little else. It doesn't really bother me at all but I can see the benefit to the voter. Much nicer than comment spam.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's quite funny to divide $0.01 by 100 and giving that as an upvote! I never did that. At some point of time my vote even valued at about $0.10 because of some delegation. Even then I gave 100% to the comments under my post!

It's a tough time as the voting power is down even after powering up. I cannot vote as often or as much as I could, trying to maintain the 80% voting power each day.

Patience is the key at the moment. After September, things will start to look up!

Cheers.

what's the point of using a slider when the vote is already microscopic?

The idea is to keep your voting power from being depleted too quickly. Also, if your SP is very small you may actually run out of bandwidth.

I see these nanoupvotes spread as far and wide as possible as a way to advertise yourself. It's the most benevolent form of spam imaginable.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good information. I have always been curious about the idea of ​​when I reach the 500SP I do not know if my phone will give me that option slideable or I will always vote 100%. You have tried it? ... You have an android right?

Screenshot_20180820-192426.jpg Yes. You'll get the slider on android too

Excellent!... Thanks friend @dromzz!... I have no doubts!

It's the app and not your phone that gives you the slider. Steemit does not give you the slider before you have 500 SP. I don't know about the others except that Busy does not require that for you to have a slider. The operating system of your phone has nothing to do with it.

Because I have over 500 SP I can't tell from experience whether or not some app requires at least 500 SP to give the user a slider. Anyway, the slider is pretty useless for anyone with less than 500 SP and with the current low value of SBD. When you have 500 SP your vote will be worth 0.03$ at 100% voting power. If you go much below that your vote will be dust and useless unless the post or comment you're voting already has or will very likely get more than the dust threshold.

I am very aware of that. I just hope that my plans to leave the country come true for this year and so I can interact in steemit like the rest of the people (with a PC).

I think its very rubbish, a definite downturn. I'm even considering leaving the platform as its just not paying anymore.

If you want support, you need to produce interesting content and engage in a genuine way. Share something and build rapport with people. Also, upvoting your own comments when you have so little voting power makes absolutely no sense. Not only will such tiny upvotes most likely go to waste because they do not exceed the dust threshold by themselves but upvoting your own comments will also put off people from upvoting them or any of your content. You're going about things in the wrong way on multiple levels.

Your posts are one liners. Your wallet is empty.
Why do you want to treat this as an ATM?

I would rather downvote your post if you resort to mere one liners!

Excellent article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

You have spammed that same comment dozens of times. You are have no other content than spam comments like that. Your reputation is well below the initial 25. A flag is in order.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83