Steem Search Update - Free Text Searching, Pending Payout and Historical Upvote Exclusion

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Hey there guys,

I hope, like me, you have had a lovely Xmas and are looking forward to the new year with the same excitement that I am. I really truly believe that 2018 is going to be a big year for Steem and Steemit. Glad to be along for the ride. Thanks for all of the support you have given, not only with SteemSearch, but with my other projects too. I have some new photography-centric projects coming up very soon that I hope you will all enjoy.

So over the last few days, I have had some time to work on some highly requested features.

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 11.37.00.png

  • Keyword search and exclusion on body and title text.

This allows you to look for specific words within the body text, or exclude posts that contain specific words in the body or title. This is currently looking at each word that you enter individually. I'm working on getting this to work so that you could exclude all posts with "Travel with me" as part of the title, for example. If you exclude the words "travel with me" now, you will exclude all posts with the words "travel", "with" and "me" in them.

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 11.34.34.png

  • Exclude user upvoted by

One of the recommended Curie guidelines is to not submit posts that have had a Curie upvote on them in the last x days. This new functionality looks at all the votes for a users posts and if they have received an upvote from the user specified here, excludes them from the results. It's not just limited to curie of course!

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 11.39.07.png

  • Exclude posts with a pending payout value

Another Curie-centric parameter is that posts should not be submitted that have a pending payout on any post in the last 7 days of $25 or more. This search option lets you specify the maximum amount that a user can have pending on any single post in the last 7 days (as this is when pending payout turns to "actual payout")

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 11.42.14.png

  • Saved search parameters

You will also notice that the last search parameters you searched on are re-loaded into the browser if you re-load the page or re-visit the site. The future plans for this are to allow you to have a set of searches that you can create yourself and then select them from a drop-down chooser, pre-populating the search parameters.

  • **Validation failures are now shown on a tooltip - EDIT - CURRENTLY DISABLED COS IM A DOOFUS.

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 12.12.12.png

I have also removed the snow effect (as the festive season is now pretty much over) !!

So, what else is to come for SteemSearch in the new year and beyond. Well, here is what I am thinking...

  • Remove the 100% dependency on SteemSQL. SteemSQL is absolutely superb and the searches that SteemSearch does would not be easily done without this service. However, I'd like to get some protection into Steem Search in the case the SteemSQL has issues. Getting the same queries that you use now to work on the blockchain is no walk in the park though and it may been a restriction on what is available if im querying the blockchain directly. We shall see. This is potentially a massive piece of work.
  • Storing of a list of custom searches
  • Viewing of posts within SteemSearch as opposed to opening them in Steemit.
  • Copy of url directly into other curation submission tools.
  • Notifications of new posts meeting your parameters.
  • Many other things that im making up as I go along.

Please visit http://www.steemsearch.com to search for some awesome stuff on the steem blockchain.

Yet again, thanks for the continued support. If you would like to get involved then please drop me a message in the #steemsearch chat room on steemit chat

Thanks guys

Mark

Sort:  

Ah ha, this is exactly what I was talking about. Great work, Mark

Looks like the form validation is a bit wonky.... oops. Will disable that temporarily while i fix it.

Great work once again. It is exciting to see how this all unfolds. Keep it coming, Mark :-D

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Great to see these improvements piling in, love following the progress Mark

I just collected some ambergris :) Looking good my friend

I need more search texts :)

Thank You! Good Work! Always looking for some way to search this crazy blockchain!

Thanks Again!

great to see this.. smart features.. only when I click the link I get a blank page..will bookmark this. 🙏

What browser are you using - I only have been able to test with chrome so far.

Awesome work. Thanks for sharing. I always wanted to learn more :)

Have your tool been submitted to Steemtools.com?

No, it hasn’t. Ill have a look into it. Thanks

Any idea how i do this? I sent an email, no response as yet.

Hmm. The instruction on the site should work. Give it a day or 2 still and I'll contact them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97