Sort:  

so one year later, whats the current size? and what about view.ly storiung videos on the steem blockchain, how will we cop with video uploads when we will compte with youtube ? I just am cruoious and i know we can do it, we can do anything now, decentralized will allow for the entiure sstem to work better and i bet EOS will playa part in teh future ....am i close?

I'm currently attempting to sync a full witness node on my system, and I'm at 54GB - and only synced up to mid-Nov. 2016.

I do think this will be a huge problem in the future, especially as people are pushing more content. It will be completely unsustainable if they want to put video in there. There's already very few witness nodes (less than 200?) which would seems like it could be a major problem for the network. I'm still figuring out DPOS based blockchains, so it could be perfectly secure with that low number of nodes - just seems odd to me.

Just an update on this - looks like the daemon reserves a 54GB file for data; this doesn't necessarily mean it's using it all. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51