You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The evolution of Steem and Love

in #steem5 years ago

I have identified two things I do need to learn beside all other things I enjoy learning here. And it is a place that can help me if I help myself. This comes back to the potential of the platform - potential to freely try and learn... and evolve.

The two things are learning to say Yes and learning to say No. Do I have problem with both of them? Don't we all? Well, I guess some people learn some things faster and more permanently than others and some things remain a challenge for life. I am lucky at least I like challenges.

Look, a new technology, that puts many doubts on the table! Yes or No?

I said Yes this time.

Look, you are into playing card games, and there's this SM thing, Yes or No?

First I said No. It was not my type of game, not enough interaction and the art was nowhere near MTG...

A few months later I said Yes. It had its good sides and I've seen developers give it good thought and try to make it better. Also, the potential for investment in things which may one day be rare. When MTG was 10 years old, a Black Lotus was the amazing $ 600 which I would never pay for a card (and I was a high school kid with no income, too). The key words "I Would Never Pay". So No. When MTG was 20+ years old, that card was already $ 2000 - $ 3000. So it turns out those who paid $ 600 were not that crazy or maybe just lucky but id makes me think about that "Never" part now.

When DW came around I had learned to say Yes early. And I did. Because it is more than just about the game. This is also my way of learning to take risks.

Next time it will be about my job. Where I have played it safe for almost 6 years and I am still at the beginning. I play it way too safe to actually be safe. I am outright losing because I don't take business risks at all. While I should be able to calculate which ones I can afford taking and then keep trying until I succeed.

And I learn to say No when I have to do something else and there's no time for games, for blogging, for seeing a friend.

But I do think I am evolving and I love it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59269.62
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41