Price of steem affecting post payouts?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

Does a higher price of Steem mean that post payouts will be higher? Long before I joined Steemit last summer when the price reached its peak at around 4$ I recall seeying some crazy post payouts in the thousands of dollars which I guess in turn also made the price fall again as people cashed out quickly and this likely made the price fall again. I have notice that in the trending posts with top payouts some people are earning around 600-700$ so I have to imagine this has to be related to the price.

Being unemployed now and not really looking at starting work in the next few days Im going to concentrate on making a few good posts and hopefully earning some money to help cover my costs for now. I love working online and I have done so for many years now its harder because Im lacking the self confidence in myself and my ability to concentrate on things I love appears to be quite limited but I will try as hard as possible and hopefully Steemit can be my therapy and I can earn some money along the way.

Sort:  

Hello @mallorcaman
@barbro from Ramta Headquarter here!

"Does a higher price of Steem mean that post payouts will be higher?"
The short answer is:
Yes the post payouts will be much higher!

The long answer and explanation is:
STEEM comes from a pool and that do not change. You get the same amount of STEEM. The vote price on a post is US $.
So what happen is you get STEEM and they goes up more than Bitcoin. When you exchange them for Bitcoin you get more than before. Then you exchange Bitcoin for US $ and since Bitcoin also went up you get even more US $.
So that is what you see when you look at the price in US $ on a post.

As you say in your post the last time the price was high you saw big payouts and here comes the hard part. People do not see how it works. They do not understand that if they sell to much they will earn less in the future.
If you look at your comment it says $ 1.54 and just 3 votes. That is what happens if we let the price go high. In the future you can get $ 10.00 for just a comment.

Do you want to be rich?

Now you know exactly how! Post, comment and vote!

PS. The price will not go down like the last time because people starts to see what Steemit can do around the world. The people that do not sell now will be the rich ones in the near future.


I like you

I support you in sun via hard voting in terrible rain :-)

I wish it would rain here, all we get is hard sunshine and heat!

it is sooooo terrible - really, poor you!
haha

It does, but the higher price in the payout only reflects the market price of the STEEM rewards. It's been a wild ride the past couple of days. I really regret selling a few hundred STEEM to pay some bills. I thought I'd done well getting $0.16c for the first hundred and then though I'd won big time getting $0.30 for the rest. Lol. Can't cry over it. Let's hope for all our sakes it keeps heading up. As they say to the moon 🌙 🚀

Payouts are going up. There is a lag though, because the value of steem they use is averaged over the last 3.5 days, I believe. So expect them to go even higher in the next 2 days, just like your estimated account value on your wallet page which also uses the same average. Best wishes!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.12 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33