Mining STEEM on Genesis Mining is a scam (?)

in #steem7 years ago

When you sell a product or service knowing that you can not deliver, I think that is called a scam.
About a month ago I opened a GM contract for my daughter to mine STEEM so she would have some when she opens her steemit account. The first strange thing we noticed was that when you enter your steemit account the web interface adds a "," at the end. So in my case I entered "mage00000" but I got "mage00000,".
After that things rapidly got worse as you can see in my payout overview:
Genesis01.png

The first payment appeared twice, but the second was missing and after that every 3rd payout was missing.
It is probably the fact that the actual transfer to my steemit accout fails, because that should happen every 3rd day and may not succeed because of the mysterious comma.
Of course I immediately opened a ticket and updated the ticket with new info as it became available:

#156223 Steem payout from mage00000 Being Processed since 24 days 0 hours

Hi, I'm just new in Genesis and bought an ETH mining contract that pays out in STEEM. I have received 3 payouts: 18 Jun 0.49479421 STEEM 18 Jun 0.49479421 STEEM (should be 19 Jun?) 20 Jun 0.40334798 STEEM First it is strange that I don't get a payout for 19 Jun but I get twice for 18 Jun. Second I get this message (hovering over the "i"): "Amount to be paid is too small. For STEEM dagger-hashimoto payment minimum amount is 1. Amount of 0.40334798 is added to your coin balance." But the total amount now is 1.3929364 STEEM which is more than the minimum of 1. When do I get this payout?

Their response:

We will check this with our IT department and get back to you as soon as possible.
Thank you for your patience and understanding.

My additional notes to this ticket over the next days:

Does it have anything to do with the "," that I can not get rid of at the end of my steem account name (should be "mage00000" but every time it changes to "mage00000,")?
Still no payout for mining day 22/6…

Still no payout for mining day 22/6...
Nor for mining day 25/6…

Today my steem account name appears to have changed into "0xmage00000,", but only on the payout page.
Just got this email from [email protected] saying:
"It’s not just because of our amazing staff (and we are pretty amazing);"
Three days no payout, one day paid twice, nothing transferred to my steem account, a mysterious account name change and all this in just 10 days. This really doesn't look good on you guys.

Today we can officially add mining day 28/6 to the list of missing payouts. And the steem account name is again prefixed with '0x' on the payout page.
If I may make a suggestion to the amazing team; the missing days seem to be the days that an actual transfer to my steem account should take place assuming of course that the payout program resets my balance even if the transfer fails. Since there is a mysterious "," at the end of this name that I can not get rid off and you now have added a "0x" in front it is quite possible that that may cause the payout to fail.

Today we can officially add mining day 1/7 to the amazing list of missing payouts, which now looks like this: 19/6, 22/6, 25/6, 28/6, 1/7. On 18/6 I got 2 payouts and none of the payouts have been transferred into my account. It is 12 days now without any progress, status report, outlook or anything.
What a welcome to genesis mining!

After that I changed my payout to ETC, hoping that they would solve the issue so I can go back to my original plan of mining STEEM. I wanted to know how long they figured this was going to take so I opened a new ticket.

#165260 prev. ticket and more missing payouts from mage00000

Over a week ago I filed ticket 156223 about a missing payment, a double payment and the fact that none of the payouts arrive in my account. During this week I missed two more payments for mining day 22 and 25 and today I should have got mining day 28, which I still did not receive. There seems to be a pattern here; every 3 days I don't get paid and still nothing has arrived on my STEEM account. I would like to know if there is ANY progress being made here and how long you expect this is going to take. I recently got an email from your marketing dept. telling what an amazing team you have. If you really believe so then prove it by getting this problem solved today.

This was the day after they informed me about their amazing team. Their reply:

Thank you for contacting us again.
Unfortunately, our IT team is still working on this.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.
No worries, you will receive all payouts, just please bear with us patiently until we resolve this issue.
We will get back to you as soon as possible.
Thank you for your patience and understanding!

Well, maybe I needed to be more clear.

#176565 Steem payout from mage00000 Being Processed since 3 days 0 hours

I want to know within what time frame my steem issue, ticket 156223 will be resolved. Don't reply with "please be patient", because that is not an answer. Also don't reply with "thank you for your understanding", because I do not understand why this simple problem has to take more than 3 weeks.

This ticket was closed without any response or comment, so I reopened it:

Why don't you answer my question?

To which I got the usual evasive reply:

thank you for contacting us.
First of all, I apologize if some of your tickets were left unanswered but I presume there was no new info at the time for a feedback.
I have checked you account and as far as I can see, you were informed that your issue has been passed to our IT team. I have also checked with IT and they are still in a process of resolving it. I know it takes a while longer that it should but be assured that it will be solved as soon as possible.
I will close this ticket now and merge it with original one.

And it was closed again. So I reopened it:

You are still not answering my question, which is: give me an indication of how long this is going to take. Will it be another few days, weeks or months. Your IT people must have some kind of plan.
Also I noticed that people still have the STEEM payout option while you must be fully aware of the fact that it does not work. Shall I inform the steem community or will you?

That was a couple of days ago.

I would like to know if there is anyone who has successfully mined STEEM on Genesis Mining. And if so, did you also have this comma appearing after your account name?
Let me know of your experiences mining STEEM (or more precise; mining ETH with a payout in STEEM)

Sort:  

Fine post. Interesting to see I'm not the only one that is thinking about this. Only invest in cryptos if you did the best possible research you can do and really believe in the future of the project. Wetter you're a short- or long term holder you should know what you put your money in. I really advice people to take a look at: https://www.coincheckup.com The site lets you check all there is to know about the team, product, communication transparency, advisors and investment statistics on every crypto. See: https://www.coincheckup.com/coins/Steem#analysis To watch Steem Detailed analysis

Regarding the comma:
I believe that when you give your steem account name and the the memo, they are then joined together with the comma in between them. You simply do not have the memo attached to it. Did you add the memo field in your account settings. If not, this could be the problem.

I also thought about that. I left the memo field blank because I don't need a memo.
It would require one simple if-statement in their code to accommodate this or to require that you enter something in the memo field. Anyway I am not going to test that for them, I just want my money.
Did you ever get any STEEM from Genesis?

"Did you ever get any STEEM from Genesis?"

No, but I only use the Steem option when its price is particularly low when compared to its normal value against Eth. Because I only have a 3Mhz account I don't yet have enough Steem to transfer.
I have heard of other people having problems though.

I have put the Memo since the beginning, but it didn't help to solve the payments problem. I still not receiving any Steem. Some days ago I changed too ETH.

Please also note that you are not actually mining Steem - you are just automatically converting the eth that is mined to Steem (who determines the exchange price is a mystery). That is why you have "AUTO" next to Steem in the allocation menu.

I have the same problem, didn't receive any Steem. Don't know why they are taking so long to solve it. And didn't know that even after so many problems with this option they didn't suspended the Steem option until correction.

Either they are entirely incompetent and understaffed or this is a scam.
I have been working in IT for many years and the first thing any sane person would do is contain the problem, that is make sure that it does not get bigger. By leaving this payout option active they show they have not even taken the first step towards solving it. We, as users of their system have to do this for them by switching to a different payout option.
As of yesterday I am also experiencing problems with the ETC payout which does not get transferred even though it is more than the minimum amount for transfer.
Genesis Mining so far has been NOTHING BUT TROUBLE

Many mining sites are real and true and many sites are fake and scam. We first of all test and check any site then invest.

I think is scam

Using any cloud mining service is a poor use of money IMO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37