You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What STEEM Really Needs Is A Dolphin-Booster Program As Evidenced By @fulltimegeek!!!

in #steem7 years ago

I love the idea, above by @cryptoeater, but I think on the whole, STEEM desparately needs to be simplified - especially the money/rewards aspects.

For any social platform to achieve mass adoption, there needs to be as little friction as possible when first joining. I'm about a month in now, and every time I find an answer to a question I have about the platform, it opens up another can of worms. I have so many cans open, I can't keep track of them all - and I consider myself to be relatively tech/social media-savvy and fairly intelligent.

Finally, I understand your point completely about dolphins and middle-classes needing the scope to grow, but [without wanting to get political] I think you/we need to stay away from calling them "the middle class" - it's never nice to hear as a member of the "lower classes" ;)

Sort:  

I have so many cans open, I can't keep track of them all - and I consider myself to be relatively tech/social media-savvy and fairly intelligent.

lol...I'm now half a year here and it's still the exact same to me.

The whole thing feels like Linux in the 90s when the geeks couldn't get enough of it but for real world application it was still a decade away.

I will follow you now.

Great! So there's more to come, too! ;) LOL

I think this is what's going to hold Steemit back, and possibly STEEM too (depends on the apps built on top). It has to be ultra-simple to explain and understand. The more friction, the more people give up. Look at Twitter - even that's seen as too complicated for many people.

I fully agree, but I see a fundamental rift between developers and the rest. We don't even speak the same language with them.

I recently wrote a post about the unreadable bluepaper in which I describe this problem. For them issues normal users have are so far away, they don't understand that someone could have such problems.

My impression is that there is not even a problem awareness among the developers and witnesses and that will persist and probably kill Steemit while competition does it better. Unless, the back end of Steemit (witnesses, developers) can be professionalized quickly and bridge the gap.

I'm about a month in now, and every time I find an answer to a question I have about the platform, it opens up another can of worms. I have so many cans open, I can't keep track of them all...

This is one of the main reasons why I believe that Zappl and D.Tube will be the apps, at present, that feed more people to this blockchain. Steemit is simply more complicated and a larger learning curve for people. There is a time that it takes to not only learn the compensation/reward system, but how to use the site. At least on the other two apps, one can focus upon that since the apps are relatively straightforward compared to the traditional ones.

And I use middle class as an economic term.....

And those in the lower classes, on STEEM at least, wont be there for long if we are successful in what we are doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58