You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EOS vs Steem - My thoughts on double Witnessing

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

To my knowledge there is no plan in the works from Steemit Inc to hand out lambos to those who no matter what they do, or don't, stick around and keep themselves powered up.

When Lambo!!!???

Heheh. Thanks for a great addition to the discussion.

whale has absolutely every moral right to demand loyalty from a witness who is paid to secure and maintain the blockchain, as a condition for offering his/her support.

I agree, but I don't think loyalty is the right word. Trustworthiness? Absolutely. Value creation? For sure. Expertise, experience, and a proven track record? Without a doubt. Loyalty, to me, is not what an investor wants as much as they want results. If one witness is involved in 10 different things and, through that experience, providers more consistent value than other witnesses, then an investor would be irrational not to support them. The witnesses "loyalty" should be related to the value they create for the blockchain and the primary role they have as a block producer to consistently and securely produce blocks for that chain.

To me, this is the benefit of DPOS. Those with the most to lose and the highest claim on the rewards pool, witness pay, and other forms of inflation on their holdings have the most say in who gets to protect their investment as a witness securing the blockchain.

I'm walking away with a bitter taste in my mouth, I won't lie.

I'm curious to know more aobut this bitter taste. What, specifically, is bothersome? I'd like to know more.

Edit: oh, I forgot to mention, I originally put in around 10 BTC into STEEM right around the peak of that chart. One of the worst (in BTC terms) trades I've ever made. But, on the long run especially when considering "social profits" (I like that term, nicely done), it's been one of the best decisions of my life (not just my finances).

Sort:  

Trustworthiness? Absolutely. Value creation? For sure. Expertise, experience, and a proven track record? Without a doubt. Loyalty, to me, is not what an investor wants as much as they want results. If one witness is involved in 10 different things and, through that experience, providers more consistent value than other witnesses, then an investor would be irrational not to support them.

I guess my word was used poorly, because that is exactly what I mean. if they can remain being a valuable contributor to this ecosystem, efficient and consistent in their endeavors (loyal is not the word, but it seemed right at the time) then I will feel like they are still worthy of their witness position.

In other words Nepotism or the equivalent of it for Steem should not play a single hand of poker ever.

I'm curious to know more about this bitter taste. What, specifically, is bothersome? I'd like to know more.

This is more directed towards Sneak. I know he is not a diplomat, he is a developer, but I would have hoped he would know better. There is cost in morale that he failed to calculate when he said that, even though I appreciate your being upfront about it, because it helps me understand Steemit Inc's collective mind a little more.

I tend to worry (as Im sure others too) about their lack of communication, the typical "coming very soon", the lack of outward projection, and I was putting all that into a giant bucket of "inefficiency, they are learning, its OK". Now, I've shifted it to a "they know, its not important to them, not right now". (although they seem to recently have gotten 10 times better)

It makes me question also some of the "battles" that are taking place on our platform. The protection of a reward pool, and how futile the whole thing might be in the big picture.

I may be wrong, I may even insult someone, but I'm starting to think that the flag war with haejin is not effectively doing more "good" than the League of Curation did when it was in full force.

Thanks for clarifying. Yeah, that conversation was a bit frustrating for me also, as I mentioned, and maybe it wasn't the best way for him to describe things. It was not only a long time ago (last year), but it was an open, informal public conversation we had with many people around us, not a PR moment in front of the camera or anything like that.

I agree with you that Steemit, inc through @steemitblog is 10x better than it used to be concerning communication with the community. I really, really appreciate that.

"inefficiency, they are learning, its OK"

To me, if this goes on forever, it's incompetence and not okay. If they aren't fixing what is most important they are failing.

On the other hand:

"they know, its not important to them, not right now"

This may actually demonstrate expertise, experience, and professionalism. They may not be incompetent, but instead working on the most important things, even if they aren't sexy. To me, that's a good thing, I just wish they would do it all a little faster (as do many). That, also, is a good thing because it means I'm an engaged user in their product. I love it. I want it to get even better.

In any case Luke, I give you major props for putting yourself out there to have this conversation with the little guys. As emotionally charged as the conversation got, specially with a special someone, you chose to see it through.

I learned a lot from the conversations that sprouted out of this, specially when Paula and Asher joined. I needed that perspective.

Yeah, they provided some great value to all of it.

I have these conversations often, but I guess I should go out of my way to continue having them more openly (this may be one of the few times I used a root post for them). If people have concerns, please let them know I'm always available, and I don't mind controversy, as long as people are respectful. I have better things to do than feed trolls, and unfortunately that happens here too from time to time. :)

When Lambo!!!???

Well, I showed you how to know when! Just use my When Lambo calculator and you'll see how short you fall or not right now!

http://steem.agency - top right menu item. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70