You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing SteemPress.io - mixing a traditional blog style with the steem blockchain

in #steem8 years ago

This is fantastic! I'm also a PHP dev (let's get #PHP going, yo!) and have played around with a couple simply scripts related to the Steem Interest rate. I'd love to know more about the technical side of what you're doing here. I've really wanted to dive into Steem and start building out tools for analyzing the data more (sort accounts by posting value, curation value, percentage per post, etc). I've tinkered a bit with Piston and have looked at the API a bit, but I'm not really sure where to get started. Are you just running your own steemd and then making calls to it directly via PHP? Would love to know more! Very cool. Following for sure.

Sort:  

We should! I could write some fun articles ;)

Yeah, I'm running my own JSON-RPC steemd on a server, and I'm using fguillot/json-rpc's RPC client. I had to do some hacky stuff to actually get the content, and the code is a complete mess right now, but I definitely could share some examples.

Going this route I was pretty much able to do anything that the RPC client allowed.

I was looking to do something very similar locally. If you want to contribute here, that would be fantastic: https://github.com/lukestokes/php-steem-tools And I totally understand as far as code quality goes. I'm just prototyping things at this point. I wrote a couple posts here and here on what I was playing around with. I haven't yet put anything on a server. I'm just tinkering with local cli scripts for now.

Thanks for the tip on fguillot/json-rpc! If you share some examples, leave a comment for me so I can come check it out. Hopefully the follow functionality will be implemented soon.

Oh I am too, no worries about me judging your code lol. SteemPress's code is in no way "good" at the moment, it's got some massive functions in it that really need some love. But that's what prototyping is for!

And sure, I'd be more than happy to share some code snippets on how I used fguillot/json-rpc to access the API. Maybe that's an idea for a blog post in #PHP :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94