You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MIST: a Meta-Model for Steem Subchains

in #steem7 years ago

I'd love to see more examples of how this would work in practice. I'm a bit confused on how you would introduce non-steem operations. Are you able to add whatever "op" you want? Aren't you limited to ops defined by the Steem blockchain? If so, do you have to piggy back on top of those ops, such as a transfer with a specific memo or something like that?

Sort:  

Piggybacking is one way, certainly: transfer memos, or the title, body, or category of a post. But Steem also has an operation called custom_json that lets you include totally arbitrary data in the blockchain. That's actually how the re-steem feature is implemented.

Very cool, thanks for the reply. I knew about custom_json on accounts but didn't realize it was an operation all on it's own. So it's not a transfer or a comment or anything it's just "blob o' custom json"? That could be fun to play around with, for sure.

Yep, just a blob o' json.

And I plan to publish a real working example of a MIST soon.

Interesting, but why use root posts? Won't that just clog up the "blog" sites like steemit and busy.org? Couldn't this have been done differently? I'll go ask over there. Thanks for the link! :)

Yeah, it's messy. But my thought was to make it as compatible with existing front-ends as possible. I had thought about doing transfers with replies to the genesis post, but I think there's a limit to how many replies a post can have and I didn't want that to cause me problems in the long run.

You could always create another post and change the protocol to look for that new post also if you run into that limit. Could be considered a second round of the ICO, maybe.

Hi @lukestokes - my token is now launched: Pocket Announcement. It's similar to the test version we'd discussed before, but I cleaned up the syntax for sending tokens. I'm having people claim a stake of tokens by resteeming this post. Would love your thoughts and/or participation!

pocketsend:100@biophil, Freaking cool! Well done. I just got my tokens.

Successful Send of 100
Sending Account: lukestokes
Receiving Account: biophil
New sending account balance: 999900
New receiving account balance: 1005197
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 809300083e6c3d29844684321759c430191c1d98
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Thanks! I'm just glad it works ;)

Successful Send of 100
Sending Account: lukestokes
Receiving Account: biophil
New sending account balance: 999900
New receiving account balance: 1005098
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 809300083e6c3d29844684321759c430191c1d98
I am the-tech-guy's POCKET bot. Currently running this code

Interesting... might be a good idea to add a check in the code to not add a comment if an existing bot comment already exists.

That check is in my code already. It can fail if the two bots' databases aren't consistent, which seems to be the case here.

Ah, interesting. I wonder if checkpoints published on the Steemit blockchain would be a good idea, kind of like how Gridcoin takes the BOINC data and verifies it with superblocks. That way the databases could sync up every day or so to ensure they are correct. It could even be a hash of the database as if a given block height. Maybe seed nodes could be keeping this information in sync.

Maybe one of these days I'll play around with building a POCKET validator. I mentioned your project in my recent witness report. I think it's a really cool thing. :)

Successful Send of 100
Sending Account: lukestokes
Receiving Account: biophil
New sending account balance: 999900
New receiving account balance: 1005197
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 809300083e6c3d29844684321759c430191c1d98
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.71
ETH 2527.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53