Investing in STEEM, question about current price showing on steemit (compared to other exchanges/live apps)

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Hi all! First off, Id like to say I'm brand new to the Steemit platform, but coming from a long history of browsing/participating in forums online, I like what I'm seeing thus far! I've read a few of the introductory posts about the community and the idea behind STEEM and Steem Power. To those of you that have taken the time to explain it as simply as possible, I thank you very much. As an investor/speculator in various cryptocurrencies, I am a bit lost as to why the price of STEEM shown here under the "market" tab shows a current price (as of 7/13 4pm pst) of roughly $2.92. On a daily basis, I use the CoinCap app on my phone to get up to minute price movement on all the various cryptocurrencies. Currently, this app shows a price for STEEM at around $3.50. Is there something I am missing or not understanding? Any help in this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Sort:  

just realized that the market page here on steemit only shows bid and ask prices and prices at which most recent transactions have taken place.....so i guess my question turned out to be kind of pointless. I do think that it would be beneficial to include somewhere either on the page an up to the minute update of the market price for what STEEM current value is. I know the purpose of this community first and foremost may not be to focus on that, but it is a piece of useful data that all users/participants (speculators or not) should be privy to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42