You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comments are now disabled on old posts, new readers cannot even reply anymore...

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

the whole set up here is like treading water in a whirlpool while wearing lead shoes. if you stop for a second, down you go. most posts are never seen again after 12 hours. some articles take almost that long to research and write, if they are any good, unless someone is straight up plagiarizing. i save my best writing now, and don't post it here, so i can post it somewhere that will reward me fairly.

i have had my own issues with the comment/edit cutoff. i understand the maybe reasoning of a voting cutoff, but even that puts unnecessary limits on appreciation of quality. maybe after a certain point a non-payout upvote could still be had.

honestly i don't know why i even type this stuff. i have accumulated enough to leave here and get a real job writing, where i at least get rewarded value for value. this is eating my soul. if i didn't have friends here, i would be gone already. this is ultimately futile and pointless if you don't already have huge steem power, and lots of whale friends.

Sort:  

Yes, it has recently changed into that, like an over-complicated twitter with bots and brigades you have to make deals with to get anywhere.
I would be really pissed if I were you, that is a lot of your original content that they just decided to keep. That was not the deal when this started... I have a whole series of how-to's I was going to reformat for this place, but it is more fun to post on a forum where it will generate discussions for years. Without tips, votes, and replies it seems dumb to leave anything good buried here.

The only thing I can think to do is try to get people to make a post talking about what would make it worth staying around for. There is not much time left though, if steem hits a nickel I think its done.

now pretty much what i do is look through the new posts until i find something poorly written or poorly reasoned that pisses me off, then i write up a whole original article on the subject. i can do that almost anywhere. youtube even. i'm still searching for more markets for my content, but i know i'm not making anything here.

i have copies of all the stuff that i'm very happy with. live and learn. this place, at least, jump started my writing urge again, so, not a total loss.

they should have called this The Content Graveyard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72