You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PSA: Don't Select 100% SP Rewards!

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

This is absolutely the right thing to do. I'd like to add one minor caveat though - if the price suddenly pumps by a lot during your payout window, you might actually lose out as the price feed takes 3 days to catch up. I was caught out by this as I had a large payout due around May 8th - when Steem had pumped by 200% in 48 hours, yet the price feed was only showing a <50% increase. The SBDs at the time were 60% over, so I effectively received less half the Steem as I would have had I gone 100% SP. Happened again around May 16th, would have made 20% more going the 100% SP route. Of course, this is a corner case, and you should definitely go 50-50. But if you are expecting a major pump one week from post creation - more than the SBD premium - 100% SP might be the better option. Same applies if you expect a major SBD dump, too.

Sort:  

Good point. But that is obviously a unique situation. :)

And if you're able to accurately predict a major SBD dump a week in advance, I think you're probably not the expected audience for this post. ;)

No one could predict what those crazy SBD traders on Poloniex will do next!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73