You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My thoughts and what YOU need to do now

in #steem5 years ago

I'm stealthy. Unfortunately, I'm also easily bored. And I knew upfront that no matter what was said, it was only going to have a passing resemblance to what was did.

I figure I will check a recording of the fine event later when it's not early in the morning East Coast US time. Well, early in the morning for my personal schedule. Much easier to pay attention to that way.

Of course, at this point, I was not really expecting much useful out of the town hall put things escalated to such a point that there's absolutely no way I could expect anything useful out of the town hall.

On the positive side, I'm cooking a lovely corned beef in the instant pot. (Guaranteed to have a positive and desirable outcome.)

Sort:  

I guess then you dont find it useful that we can, at the moment block, the incoming HF from tron. I would say thats an amazing outcome. Im sure you will have plenty of other words to use to describe it and debate why it is not amazing.

enjoy the corned beef instant pot. Im going to have a cuppa tea, an easter egg and go to bed happy.

I'd say that the important phrase is "at the moment." Until they have something ready to deploy (and I mean that in a very literal sense), they can afford to let you hold that territory. Since the witness votes to deploy the hard work don't actually have to be maintained before they're ready to deploy, they can afford to wait.

I think it's an interesting outcome that at least a couple of the exchanges have decided to pull back on their voting power, but we have seen enough use of delegation and bots warms over the last few years to know that isn't really a serious impediment if major holders of SP feel deeply motivated. It would be really cool to find out what those particular exchanges really were negotiating for behind-the-scenes or if the PR impact of being seen as one of the players struck them as a bad idea.

I'm not saying that you shouldn't go to bed happy, but I will reiterate that what you're being happy about is the open declaration by a group of witnesses that they are perfectly willing to violate one of the central tenets of governance on the blockchain – that governance votes are based on how much stake you have. If they ultimately end up on the successful side of this, they will have burned not only their own house to the ground but everyone else's to flex on Justin Sun. There will be no more serious investors coming from outside after that point because there will be no guarantee that they will be able to use their stake.

It remains a question up in the air of who else could/would/will get frozen out because some witnesses decided they should be.

Before this point, it was at least considered socially unwise to agitate publicly about removing voting power for stake because the same argument can always be turned around against the speaker. With this latest move, there are a number of people who are declaring that it's okay to use that power against them because they are willing to use it against others.

Doesn't seem like a big opportunity to celebrate for me, but what do I know?

"but what do I know?"

I ask my self the same question all the time lololol, good night

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62214.82
ETH 2429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68