You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: DDoS Attacks - Take it as a compliment

in #steem7 years ago

I totally forgot a key point that you made Asher. On a plane trip I met a guy who described himself as a “reformed hacker”, so I asked him to explain to me how is it that hackers are getting into places like the “impregnable Department of X in Great Country Y”.

He carefully explained to me that the hackers have indeed studied the defences of the department and rarely attacked them directly. Instead, they go after the laptops etc. of employees and others who have legal routes into the department’s network, and by one means or another they try to take over these external computers and use them to attack the department.

And you are certainly right that in the case of the banks of which I deal, as soon as you try to login they send personal information back to your screen that both allows you to tell immediately whether or not you have landed in a bad place and raises some new barrier that you have to jump over before you can get into their system. This leads me to wonder whether two factor login (2FA) might be a way to go with Steemit.

Sort:  

I remember seeing a comment here somewhere that 2FA and Blockchain isn't possible. (Yet?) Hence the importance of not using your Owner key.

Cheers for the comments re: the mind of a Hacker.

Asher

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43