@Steemit Account Stops Power Down ✋steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

While creating my Daily Investor Report, I noticed that next Monday's power downs look about 1 million STEEM short. When I dug into it a little I realized that the @Steemit account has stopped powering down. I'm figuring they are comfortable with the 24 million liquid STEEM already accumulated in the account and believe that sum currently valued at over $6 million is enough of a cushion to continue current operations.

Any comment from @steemitblog?

Got any of your own ideas?

I believe that a decreased volume of liquid STEEM will help to support the STEEM price so if they don't need to power down to support development then I support the pause.

Steemit Account 20170426.PNG

Sort:  

This is good news! Thanks for sharing!

Very good news, even we can see that the Steem price is keeping around US$0.23 and Steem Dollar above US$1.2.

I don't think this is a positive thing. Steemit should constantly cycle their power downs (ie. always power down but power it up again when they don't plan to sell). The reason for this is that speculators will constantly watch this account. We don't want the fact that @steemit has started powering down again to be some kind of system shock.

I see it as a sign of strength and investment in the future of the platform by slowing the @Steemit power down rate.

Well then will the inverse be true? Will it be a sign of weakness in the platform when they start powering down?

Yes, I think it will have an small negative impact when they resume power downs. However, I think the impact will be dependent on the power down rate they choose. I would see a lower power down rate going forward as a sign of strength and long term planning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77