If I were @ned , this is how I would change the system #2

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

There were lots of conversations going on in the kr- community because of the kr-1000 club tag. If the tag was for noise marketing, it seemed successful. If it was sincere and was not a marketing method, it didn’t seem successful and it’s hard to achieve anything with it.

There are different reasons between people but the main reason I started to invest in Steem was the Steem white paper. Now you would wonder what part of the paper made me do that.

The first thing that motivated me was the Abstract part.

If you have the opportunity, I recommend reading the Steem white paper if you’re investing in Steem. You will learn what Steem pursues and what it aims to achieve.

The Abstract part mentions these three principles in the outline. Only a few would decide not to invest in Steem after reading these principles. It is that appealing.

I consider the top three principles crucial.
Firstly, the ones who contribute to a venture are mentioned that they will be rewarded from the Steem block chain and it is currently functioning in that way.

Because the third principle referred that various products will be created, I don’t oppose to Seu dal kkang (A Korean term for paying Steem dollars for upvotes), randowhale or self votes. It is the way that the Steem block chain pursues.

Today’s topic is what I would change if I were @ned, and it’s going to be about the second principle of the white paper. Steem equates the value of capital and labor. But the current coin distribution shows otherwise. The value of labor is priced higher than the capital.
As a result, the price of Steem is undervalued and it is becoming the reason for conflict of interests.
The recent controversy over the ‘1000 Steem power club’ is essentially the conflict between the capital group and the labor group. So there is no right or wrong in this situation.
The two groups are both expressing reasonable opinions.

Let’s look at the distribution of the new coin.

  • 10% Witness fees (Close to the value of labor and capital)
  • 15% SP interests (Closer to the value of capital)
  • 18.75% Curation rewards (Closer to the value of capital)
  • 56.25% Author rewards (Closer to the value of labor)

Currently 90% of the new Steem coins (excluding the witness fees) are distributed to the users. According to the 2nd principle of the Steem white paper, the value of labor and capital should be equal. Therefore the 90% should be distributed 45% each to the labor and capital.

But at the moment, 56.25% of the 90% is being distributed to labor value, and 33.75% is distributed to the capital. The value of labor is 11.25% overvalued. As a result, Steem power investors are sensing that the two values aren’t equal and problems like the thousand club controversy are arising. A lot of people are supporting it too.


(Image source : http://www.fmkorea.com/296313445)

Human beings are very intuitive. Without reasoning, people instinctually know the way that is more beneficial. That’s why wherever you go there will be a shortcut like the image above.

The current Steem block chain is over pricing the labor value than the capital value. As a result, the users are instinctively hesitating to invest in Steem, and this is unprofitable for neither the capital nor the labor provider.

There is no reason to overvalue the capital but nor is there a reason to undervalue it. There are needs to equalize the value of capital and labor according to the Steem white paper.
If I were @ned, I would change the current coin distribution as follows.

If it is distributed this way, Steem might become the first crypto currency to equalize the value of capital and labor.

What are your opinions?

This post was translated by @zoethehedgehog

Sort:  

I'm not to a technical level to understand your reasoning, but I consider myself a curator here. I make more income this way as a new person on steemit and I like supporting others.

I'm doing everything I can to increase my sp and seeing better results from the increases easily. I have delegated sp now which brings my vote to the top of the ranks on many posts. This means my little noob vote is valuable and that no one bigger than little me is even there.

But if I look on the high paying posts - there are the whales - voting for themselves for huge return. I do not begrudge this, but try to emulate it in my small way. I see them making huge curation revenue, so I know it is possible to do this.

I would love to see more money put into the curation side here. Right now - the curation reward is so small for someone new that they ignore the whole topic - to their detriment. I'm finding it to be a lot of work, but I like it and will continue as best I can.

Hmmm... Why do you attribute curation rewards as closer to the value of capital?

Isn't curation a labor just as authoring is? Although the author creates the initial product, the curator serves both as an editor and reviewer: upvoting worthy material and adding to the value of the post with additional commentary.

Great article! Cheers!

This made me think about the virtues of Steem. It was a great opportunity to translate such an article :)

Totally agree.. is easy like 1+1 in south america the same issue is happening, with some differences but happens too!

Thank you!
Nice to meet you.
Thanks for voting.
완연한 가을입니다.
좋은 하루 되세요.
창 열고 들어오셔서
반갑습니다.

Congratulations @leesunmoo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think "Curation reward" is closer to value of labour because curators should search for under valued articles with high potential (timing of voting matters a lot as well).

On their Github page, they also describe both Curation rewards and Author rewards as "Proof of Brain"

I agree that Curation rewards is too low at the moment, but I don't understand why you put lower number on SP interests even though you insist that they should put more value on capital.

Thank you !
Thanks for voting.
오늘도 다녀가셨네요

격려의 보팅도 하고
가셨네요

고맙습니다.

고마운 가을 하루
일요일입니다

Thank you for sharing @leesunmoo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31