My robot experiment: Distribute my voting power to the hands of good human curators 我的机器人实验,通过跟踪人肉点赞的方式分散我的投票权力

in #steem8 years ago

Everybody are worrying about the centralization of voting power on steemit today, more than 90% of the active voting power are in the hands of 117 whales, 253 dolphins share 6% of the voting power, the total voting power of 5726 active users is less than 1%,see the picture below:

votingpower29100.png

Time is precious , whales only have limit time to read a few posts and curate, some of the whales like @wang are using robots to vote the top authors only, most of the good posts were ignored, top authors are happy, but most of other authors are disappointed.

@dan posted about people rank, even thought about remove the curation rewards completely , @smooth thought it won't work, because whales will accept bribe to vote, @xiaohui and i talked about this a few days ago, and we thought maybe use robot to follow good curators will work, so we are working on our robot experiment recently.

I talked about this with @isteemit yesterday, and i invited him to join our experiment, so i added his user name to the follow list. I will give you an example to explain how it works, this morning, @norbu posted this Introducing Steemit to Nepal: The First Ever Steemit Meetup in Kathmandu 13th Aug. 2016. Steemit on Top of the World, Literally!!

he is not in the top author list, so @wang 's robot didn't vote for him, @smooth 's robot didn't vote for him as well, all of the other robots didn't vote for him, but @isteemit voted for him, because he is living in Nepal and he followed @norbu, after a few seconds, my robot voted for this post, because @isteemit is in the follow list, one hour later, a few whales noticed this post, voted, and 4 hours later, @dantheman voted it. No other robots voted it, most of the robots voting the top authors only.

Today, i added another good curator to my follow list, he is @nanzo-scoop , i found out he spend a lot of time reading posts, and wrote two articles about how to vote:

Curating for Profit - Tip #1: Make your objectives SMART!

Curating for Profit - Tip #2: Don't vote on posts that have been "WHALE BOMBED!"

Our community needs those good curators to identify good contents, otherwise, authors will leave, readers will leave too.

Hot resources / 中文区热门讨论

Sort:  

One of the best initiative I have encountered yet. This way of bot operation will have a big positive impact on the rewarding system on several fronts.

--> Great authors who are hidden under the shadows get more exposure.
--> Better reward for curators. Inviting more people to better curate.

Well done Laonie

Great authors who are hidden under the shadows get more exposure - agree with this. Frustrated users who create awesome content will eventually generate more revenue as time goes by.

How about bot which votes for post that already have many votes of minnows? Of course that strategy could be sybil atacked, but if your bot could differ with high probability real humans from puppet accounts it would be nice.

This is a good idea, i would like to try it too, thanks.

Thank you for this valuable input @everythink.

I'm working on that too.

According to this.. I WAS a top author up until last week when I lost the support of user @wang.

Even tho my content is till consistently highly praised by my peers... Anybody that can advise me on what happened will be much appreciated!!

Hi @laonie,

I cannot write to much now as my hands are full with other matters, however I did want to take the time to thank you for the endorsement and your patronage. I think this initiative is an excellent one. I will continue to try to curate good content.

More to follow at a later date...

Thank you very much for doing this for the community, I hope more whales will follow the good curators like you, it's better than to vote the VIP list only.

hey @nanzo-scoop i've noticed how you are one of the few big guys who upvotes me quite a bit... Just want to say thank you for the upvotes and enjoying my content. Hopefully I can get back up there in ranks as one of the "top authors" again..

Funny how someone mentioned I was one of the best bloggers on here and the next day @wang dropped me from his "list" haha
Either way, thanks for the support

You deserve more than just my upvotes @mrwang. I make a point of following people beyond their introduceyourself post. You're consistently putting out quality content despite getting criminally small returns. I respect your grind.

Much appreciated @nanzo-scoop felt like I might have been losing everyones interest at one point. I just keep creating and posting whatever I feel like expressing at that moment. It's good to know I have caught some of you guys attention and not just a "bot" friendly upvote :) Gracias Homie

@laonie May I ask what your robot is looking for when it is "crawling" for "Good Authors?" Do grammatical errors count? Followers? Comments and Replies in a Post?
Also, is there somewhere we can submit our work to see if it is good enough for the 'bot' testing? Thanks.
@streetstyle

I don't expect my robot to looking for Good authors, that's not wise, It's impossible to teach a robot to understand english, so how can a robot do that?
It's better to keep it simple, and rely on humans to do that kind of jobs.

My bad @laonie I misunderstood. Your bot users Curator info. to then make an up vote, yes?

I will looking for good curators by myself, read their posts, analyse his/her voting history, for example , if the curator is an expert on "photography", then my robot maybe only follow his votes on tag "photography".
It's impossible for a robot to identify whether a picture is beautiful or not , right?

Nice idea laonie. I already started working on a similar bot 2 or 3 weeks ago which doesn't work that bad. On steemit you can't win with quantity, but only with selected and smart actions. And so must be the bots.

i am active everyday ;) i don't mind taking that there voting power, no siree bob ! :P

this is a great idea. It will improve the ecosystem. thanks

hope this project will progress as you envisioned

This is an amazing attemot and study to see what happens. we are all watching as it unfolds.
The concept of adding these curators intrigues me. I wonder how it will unfold in the long term. Wish there was an easy solution, but when money is involved we all try to accomodate to that, as opposed to sharing heart content. I hope for a melding of both worlds

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 63222.17
ETH 3486.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53