Torrents of a relatively recent RPC node's data directory and already compiled steemd to use with the data directory

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I


have had really bad connectivity problems today and so I decided that I would try to run the steemd rpc on my laptop to do development. It would still answer queries (but not post broadcasts) even if it was offline.

Thus, I had a problem. My laptop would not replay it from scratch in a week, even if I added memory (though maybe it would be in a day if it had an SSD upgrade). So I am instead running transmission-daemon on my server, which is serving up two torrents containing the full and working (currently running based on the same exact files) for a RPC node with seeding enabled to localhost (so you can load balance/cache/reverse proxy it), and the version of steemd that built this folder, which is the current master on the steemit/steemd git.

Here is the links to the .torrent files that will get you these two folders already to run (be aware the RPC torrent is about 50 Gb in size):

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B65edXqkpdGpTURzVElScUVueTg/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B65edXqkpdGpMmZGRlI1NXAyQ1k/view?usp=sharing

If you download these to an ubuntu system, first it has to be 16.04 (you will have to fiddle with getting boost 1.57 for 14.04), be aware that you will need to install the prerequisite support libraries thusly:

sudo apt-get install -y \
    autoconf \
    automake \
    cmake \
    g++ \
    git \
    libssl-dev \
    libtool \
    make \
    pkg-config \
    libboost-chrono-dev \
    libboost-context-dev \
    libboost-coroutine-dev \
    libboost-date-time-dev \
    libboost-filesystem-dev \
    libboost-iostreams-dev \
    libboost-locale-dev \
    libboost-program-options-dev \
    libboost-serialization-dev \
    libboost-signals-dev \
    libboost-system-dev \
    libboost-test-dev \
    libboost-thread-dev \
    doxygen \
    libncurses5-dev \
    libreadline-dev \
    perl \
    bc

Then you can go into the steem folder of the steem torrent folder you downloaded:

cd steem/build
sudo make install

and that should install it to /usr/local and once you also have the full rpc torrent completely downloaded you can then:

steem -d /path/to/rpc 

and it should start up, sync up to date and then be providing full RPC function (for wallet, or other steem app), as well as making available a seed node that you can connect up to the one in localhost with a webserver if you want to seed (make inbound connections available to sync the blockchain and broadcast traffic).

Good Hunting Stalker!

😎


We can't code here! This is Whale country!

Vote #1 l0k1

Go to steemit.com/~witnesses to cast your vote by typing l0k1 into the text entry at the bottom of the leaderboard.

(note, my username is spelled El Zero Kay One or Lima Zero Kilo One, all lower case)

Sort:  

What is this? It's interesting.

Dang. Unseeded torrents do few anyones good.

Sorry, it had wrong bits in it. It's now just a download... I am working on this still, I was probably premature announcing it. nginx is making me crazy not properly redirecting by subdomain for what I want it to do.

I will be making an announcement tonight or tomorrow hopefully sooner, I am just getting the nginx to proxy/limit to my RPC/seed, redirect http to https, and the thing that is doing my head in is allowing 443 to run both websocket and nginx depending on subdomain. I won't be long.

ah-- so, yes I know what you're using it for-- check this out:

https://caddyserver.com/

gets the https certs for you free and automatically

don't worry about the wrong bits, it happens :)

Yeah, I used letsencrypt, first thing and got me the SSL goodness on my nginx. It's all how I wanted to make it when I started on this a week ago! at last...

https://projectinception.lt/#steemcache

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29