The little fishies must learn to swim for themselves

in #steem8 years ago

I wanted to say all kinds of bitter things, but I have thought better of it. I think I might even be starting to learn something. We might all be swimming in the same pool, but in here, like it would be if you landed in the wilderness, maybe it seems like there is people around you, but this is just a hallucination. They are all adapted, to some degree, to the environment they are in. I'm not going to say they are animals, because I think they are something more than human, in fact, and this platform is actually forcing people to evolve.

Maybe a better metaphor is this: let's say you grew up in New Jersey, and for some reason you have landed in the middle of rural Mongolia. Almost nothing you learned as a kid is going to help you in the dry, cold, and difficult environment of the Mongolian Steppes. This is a whole new place. It is maybe something like the old places, having some features in common with such as the blogosphere, reddit, facebook, and twitter, but it's so different in so many ways.

It certainly is not at all like the open source community, full of willing and able helpers who will, even at a dumb question that has already been asked, dutifully pop a useful link into the discussion and get you on your way. Sometimes you can be more or less slapped in the face. Just as would happen when you try to get on the back of the mongolian horse with a new friend you made, and you do something that spooks the horse and makes him throw you and your new friend off the back.

The kind of thick skin you have to acquire is not like anything you will be used to. Especially not if you are in the intent on participating in the innately disruptive software development business. In cryptos, everyone has a different attitude, because these tokens are not any more just 'nice things that make the world better'. They are money. So maybe a better metaphor might be something you would learn as a beginner trying to make a profit on some kind of equity exchange. They will take every last cent you put in, if you are dumb enough. If you openly declare that you want to implement a new system or feature attached to the system, that might impinge on their up to that point effective method of garnering a share of the profits, you can see that obviously, they won't be helpful, in fact might try to put you off doing it altogether.

I am pushing myself through on this because I don't think this kind of world is going away, in fact I think that this is somewhat how the world is turning. Right now, because it is so small, the established players are more grumpy and hostile than they will be in say, 10 years time, when this grows and becomes more of a normal community. But when everything you do, determines what part of that 150 million market cap there is, it makes people a lot more hard than even on your average street.

So, I am going to suggest, that if you are new to this, like I am, and discovering, like I am, that the competitive atmosphere is somewhat suffocating, maybe even more like trying to breath water, that you, like me, step back, and just remember.

This is not anything like what you have seen before. This is entirely new. These people, although many of them may be relative to you, quite well off economically, they may not find your sense of wonder and your ideas very amusing.

I don't mean in this to disparage anyone in the process. Even if by metrics I might be used to, such disparagement might well be deserved. But it's irrelevant. To the new fishies joining the pool, don't get discouraged by the mean people who see you as a threat to their piece of the pie that they are not getting by expanding the pool. To the contrary. The pool is quite full. This is why they are hostile. You might even think that your ideas will make the pool bigger, but in doing this, they will all have to adapt.

Sort:  

I think you are right to think better of being bitter!

Great post. To see things as they are, not to get disheartened and go on - I guess that's what it's all about.

I think it actually helps that right now, although I have other strings to my bow, that are finally starting to yield fruit, that I see this as my only way out of the rut I have been dragged along behind the cart into for a very long time. It reminds me a bit of my experience going through life in prison, as short and relatively painless as that was, compared to what others in there have had to deal with. Consequently, I am going to do my best to capitalise on the experience and use that here.

I don't mean to make it sound like I think this is a prison, but rather that everyone in here is just as alone as I am. This is more like the wilderness of the Wild West. There's bears, mountain lions, asps and wasps who will give you a good ass-whooping if you get in their way. But then just to the side, hiding under a few millimetres of sand on the side of the creek, is laying the mother of gold nuggets. If you run away because you got stung, then who is to blame for you 'wasting your time' and going back to the comforts of your ghetto home poorer than when you left?

Very wise words @10k1.
Many new steemers have already gone off on their own selfish rants, without seeing the bigger picture. Well said indeed sir/madam.

This is a nice post lok1. Truth be told there is a lot of support, mostly when you dig around and grab it yourself from say steemtools.com.
In this new crypto networking environment newbies can become the @falkvinge , @dollarvigilante or the @dantheman celebrity crypto personality if they work hard focus on their goals and realise that even the experts are quite new to this environment. History is being written and never has their been a better time or fairer chance to be a part of it. Opportunity is never lost, its just taken by somebody else. The best newbie advice I can give is read the whitepaper, Thanks for the article.

I think I might have to take your advice and actually sit down and read that paper. I started looking at it, but I haven't digested it all. From trial and error I have learned a lot so far, but understanding the mechanics of the system may add to what I am learning about the social environment.

There is no doubt that this is the wild west in here. This is a good thing. Well, it's not even like the wild west. There's no injuns around upset at the interlopers. The wilderness and the gold field are completely new. Everyone is trying to homestead their own plot, and everyone who comes in wants a piece of the action.

As a futurist and an aspiring developer, I can see, and even I say, that the ground itself is expanding around everyone all the time. New ideas open new domains, and in the process, may upset the cosy nooks that some people have got used to in the last 4 months.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56