Proposed Symbol for Steem Currency

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

s

Lower case S with strikethrough. The markup to display it is as follows:

<del>s</del>

It can also be written:

~~s~~

s


Example:

s250.32

I think it is a nice twist on the dollar symbol and can be rendered in any font.

Note that the capital doesn't look as good:

S s

and a delta with overstrike for steem backed dollars:


We can't stop here! This is Whale country!

https://steemit.com/@l0k1

Loki was born in Australia, now is wandering Amsterdam again after 9 months in Sofia, Bulgaria. IT generalist, physics theorist, futurist and cyber-agorist.

Loki's life mission is to establish a secure, distributed layer atop the internet, and enable space migration, preferably while living in a beautiful mountain house somewhere with a good woman, and lots of farm animals and gardens, where he can also go hunting and camping.

"I'm a thoughtocaster, a conundrummer in a band called Life Puzzler. I've flipped more lids than a monkey in a soup kitchen, of the mind."
- Xavier, Renegade Angel

Sort:  

I like your proposal because it's easy to type that.

It's not that easy but steemier (yes @walden, I've learnt that word ;) )
Small latin s with a tilde
Your order costs 100 ᵴ
U+1d74

And I propose this one, as my favorite
Triple tilde
Subscribe now for only 10 ≋
U+224b

Ooh, the triple tilde for steem and the lower case strikeout s for steem dollars :) I like this

That symbol is from those psi card tests... I think it is some symbol from set theory

Woah that triple tilde is gangster.

Really good idea, I like it!

Seems reasonable
hmmmm

It just dawned on me where they got the current symbol

It was mentioned on that discussion that strikethrough s was widely preferred but not well enough supported. Idk, I think it can always use an image for where it can't be displayed. Most interfaces now support html text.

Don't get me wrong, your idea is far easier as you can use the mark down instead of searching the web for a symbol... just playing....

s

Steem
then for SBD:

$

with a dollar sign.

It worked lol ! But what a lot of trouble to remember ! Is there a easier way !?😉

I think something like (stm) would be handy. or $$$ maybe, for SBD and -s- for Steem

Can I do that on my tablet ?!$👍

just put del tags around it liek ths like this:

<del>s</del>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05