A suggestion for managing Vote PowersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

What about if it were a customary activity, perhaps an interface feature, to signify 'thumbs up' to a post without reducing one's vote power significantly, to use 1% upvotes to indicate agreement, and 100% upvotes to give support to the poster of an agreeable comment.

I am trying this now in order to allow my vote power to return to 100% and assign full rewards to those who are engaging deeply with me on the platform, the ability to receive bigger rewards from my judgement of their commentary.

Sort:  

I like the idea and this is exactly what i have been doing. Ofcourse i will still upvote myself but whenever i make a post and the people who leave me constructive feedback or make a 2 way discussion, i will upvote them accordingly and to me this is probably more rewarding than curation in the long run.

and to me this is probably more rewarding than curation in the long run.

This!

And you didn't have to upvote this post to see it rise to the top. How does that make you feel?

voting power is definitely an issue right now , and people are just not upvoting like they used to ! I did a post about this 2days ago . Thanks for sharing and its nice to see you posting more ! Steem on my friend !👍
https://steemit.com/steemit/@karenmckersie/1300-steemit-followers-average-50-upvotes

I have been trying that but my VP is low so I have to give at least 7% for it to have any meaning.

Think about it this way. Even if you give no rewards, you give an extra number on the count of votes. This is the minimum non-verbal way of expressing approval. Then, when you are absolutely mindblown, you can give 100% and assign maximum possible rewards from your vote.

this is what I do ! I finally got my voting power back up and I want it stay that way ! 👍

I think it sounds like it could work. I am at 25% of minnow VP right now, so I am trying to only upvote on things that I feel are very important...hoping to let my VP get stronger. I cannot choose the vote strength yet, but I will be watching to see how it works for you so I will understand when I can.

As @timcliff responded thoughtfully to explain it to me in the ticket I raised about the vote slider for minnows, the parameter that we Witnesses can control to relax the limitation based on Steem Power, does not resolve the issue.

I am suggesting that minnows be given something like a 1-5 scale, 20, 40, 60, 80 and 100% options. This multiplies your ability to vote by 5x, which should not exceed bandwidth, and allows new users to learn how to conserve their vote power so they succeed in feeding the network more accurate information about the approval of the community upon a post or comment.

great idea!👍

I think it would help, because most minnows are coming from social media sites where a thumbs up is a nod, or gesture...and it has no effect on the larger community. It is a learning curve to think of a larger pool and voting power, to learn that an upvote actually matters.

That's right, and not only that, facebook sucks up every click voraciously, and they also have the ability to actually track when users browsers and client applications access their accounts.

Yes, that too... Something that might be very helpful to slow down excessive minnow voting, could be a video tutorial that one must watch before joining. Something that explains how upvotes work here vs on social media, and how voting power works.

This could well be a very good idea indeed. You don't need any permission to make such a video, and post it in a post. If people really like it, it could get added to the initial page when you first create an account.

If I only knew how to make videos ;) I am good with leather and metalworking, but videos are beyond me. I will pass the idea along though and maybe someone will make a good one.

That's the spirit. #project-smackdown would not be happening were it not for @personz getting involved and implementing a bot.

I am reading @timcliff post now "Pull Request Submitted - Update Vote Slider Threshold to Include Delegated SP", and if that were to happen I would actually be able to vote...and use the slider much sooner. When I joined, someone delegated quite a bit of SP to me, but I never knew what it was for, because it doesn't seem to be available in any way.

I will be following both of you, and listening...Thank you :)

I up vote most comments that I engage with 1% if they are at all engaging. Which means I up vote a lot of comments. I do the 1% due to the new voting drains. I want to encourage discussion.

Posts I vote more, as they are generally the SEEDS that inspire discussion and thought. Finding a happy medium or posts is still a problem, a WORK IN PROGRESS to keep my voting % from going sub-50% like it was a week ago.

I have just started to adopt that now too, because I am struggling to recover my voting power, and I want to indicate my approval more often than usual due to the intensity of engagement lately.

I don't plan on scaling back the engagement at all, I would be happy to be intensive with the community for the next few months, I didn't start #project-smackdown just to run away. I'm gonna hammer at it until the result comes.

The 1% on comments seems to work okay. I can still give people a few cents for their comments. It doesn't overly drain my pool. It is how I was voting on posts that was killing me.

yeah, I was finding that between about 5-15% varying it was allowing it to recover, but then that policy failed when 2 people started a really intense debate with me and - well, I think that, the more heavily you engage with people in discussions, the more you drain your VP, as you customarily vote on them.

I now vote most of the time on posts at 10%, and when they are particularly good I throw a 50% or 100%

Vote regeneration hygeine almost deserves a Howto I think.

Vote regeneration hygeine almost deserves a Howto I think.

Worth a how-to once we actually have it figured out. :)

I'm sure that the designers of the decay algorithm could give us a few tips.

Or perhaps it is suddenly NOT working. I gave you a 1% up vote which should have given you at least $0.06 - $0.07 yet I see it still stuck at 0. It's not Tuesday (which is a holiday)... did something just change? Also my percentage is in the 90%s at the moment... so it should be better than it has been.

shrug I have no idea, maybe the rewards pool is closing on its equilibrium point and we are now back to zero after a bazillion self-upvotes.

No it only happened on that one comment. Which is really weird. I just did another of yours for 1% and gave you $0.07.

There could even be a logic error in the algorithm. Keep an eye out, and if you see it again, screenshot it and post about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49