Why did a top 19 witness post this on my github issue?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I was already informed by @felixxx that the bandwidth issue would pop up for new users if they had a vote slider and then were able to make a lot more votes. @felixxx told me that if the block size was increased, that the bandwidth error would not appear.

I closed the issue and I'm posting it here, screenshotted for posterity, to let everyone know what they vote for when they vote for @timcliff

I have posted a few issues in the past and usually it's Vandenberg who closes issues and gives answers like this. I did not expect this from a Witness, at all.

Update

For the sake of fulfilling my obligation towards transparency, I want to mention that a clear explenation was then given on the issue. Probably because I drew attention to it here, in part, but nevertheless, I may now vote for @timcliff for responding well to the challenge, and taking the time to inform me (and in this perhaps why he attended to the issue, as he previous had addressed it):

There are two different bandwidth limits. Increasing the max block size does not fix the limit that they would run into.

My attitude is not short sitedness. I was the first of the top witness to increase my max block size back to 131,072 to allow for higher bandwidth usage for new users, and I submitted the pull request to lower the threshold for the vote slider from 1.0 MV to 0.25 MV (the lowest it can go without running into bandwidth limits).

It is purely that this is not a bug, it is an enhancement request. The existing functionality is working as per the design spec, even if you disagree with the design. To change it to something that is 'better' is an enhancement.

So a different solution would be required. I think I was suggesting that the slider could be given, but that it would only, for example, allow 3x or 4x or 5x as many fractions by allowing this proportioning. That is to say, if they had a scale with like 25, 50, 75, and 100%, they would consume the equal of a 100% vote in a minimum of 4 votes, whereas a 1-100 scale they can vote 100x for every 100% vote.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking up the issue. I know my witness vote is working for me.

Thanks, this stuff is important.
Good to take a tiny peak inside the black box.

Good info to share. Thank you.

Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41