Steem Down on PoloniexsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

Steem - Disabled

Yesterday I transferred some Steem to Poloniex, while waiting an inordinate amount of time and checking back occasionally, this morning I see that Steem is disabled.

A Bigger Question

When you send Steem or SBD (although SBD is not listed as not disabled, the transfer has not appeared now for 22 hours) for that matter, to Poloniex only to get disabled?

First there is a loss of the sent Steem, but then it brings up a larger scale problem, that is trust. If funds are lost in transit, why trust that system again. If you see a crypto is currently trading and you send funds to trade, but then get locked out or disabled... using the service againisfar less likely.

Steem Trading

So a bigger question that comes to mind is why does Steemit, not develop a Shapeshift type transfer on board?

This would increase Steem value exponentially as well as draw new users in.

Last question

So I sent the funds that are now floating somewhere in hyberspace... has anyone experienced this before? Were the funds re-hypothocated or were they lost?

.
.
.


Good Health – Evan Pantazi #Kyusho

Image Credit: poloniex

Sort:  

I had not heard about this. I will check myself later, but it would be surprising to see.

I have used them before but isn't that the way, all is fine until it's not.

Regarding the coins you sent to poloniex they will be there when the wallet is back up you just can't see it on your balances because it's temporarly disabled, and you poloniex has always had a problem withdrawing and deposting steemit tokens but you can avoid all of this and use blocktrades, changelly or the best one is bittrex.

Well thank you for the good news... I hope it pans out. Too bad these processes are so long, I was hoping to catch VERI before a major exchange adopts it.

What's wrong with changelly or blocktrades?

I have not heard of these exchanges, have you used them successfully?

Yes, both of them.

I will go look, thanks... has this situation ever happened to you and how does one (if) get funds reallocated?

I think that's a Poloniex question. Every time I've used Poloniex (not often) my deposits have gone through. I'd try contacting their support.

Yeah I started a ticket, someone mention it is hard fork related and only temporary... time will tell.

Did you sent to steemdollar adress in Polonex? I had almost the same problem. I sent some steem to bitcoins adress in Bittrex. I didn't recieve anything. I think I should have sent it to steemdollar in Bittrex. I tried to ask it back, but no want reply. I lost around 150 US Dollars. Good luck @ Chanthasam

I sent the funds (now don't laugh) both SBD and Steem to the appropriate accounts yesterday... yup out about 1000 so far.

Did you contact to steem? I don't know, how to contact them.

There is a lot of bad rumor about Poloniex right now

Dang, didn't hear the rumors prior to using them.

just to be clear about this, whats the best (trusty) exchange for Steem trade ?

Well clearly not Poloniex.

nor cryptsy :p

I have been very happy with Blocktrades and Changelly. Changelly seems to have better rates, but is slower. I break my transfers up into smaller batches to reduce point-in-time counterparty risk.

Polo is a big mess!!!I lost funds, waiting for answers reg an unauthorized transfer since weeks. I am out of there.

How long ago dd you loose with Poloniex?

Poloniex use to hae such problems and complaint..better try Bittrex which has better reputation..Good luck and more success

I will look at that as well, I just tried signing up on Blocktrades, by there email confirmation took me to a page that said my email address was not valid, even though it worked to get their link.... so onto another exchange.

I do think Steemit needs their own exchange, even if only to BTC.

I agree with you and think that they should add their own exchange however you can buy steem with steem dollars via their market. Pls be careful with the exchange you use in order not to get scammed

About 2 weeks ago Poloniex announced that it was going to deactivate a total of 20 coins from its exchange grid without prior notice, now what should be explained by that company is because they decided to remove Steem and SBD, under what criteria that was taken that Action ?, on the other hand letting people make their transfer to cause problems to users is a total abuse by Poloniex
Hace unas 2 semanas atras Poloniex anuncio que iba a desactivar un total de 20 monedas de su parrilla de intercambio sin previo aviso, ahora lo que deberia explicarse por parte de esa empresa es porque decidieron sacar a Steem y SBD, bajo que criterio fue tomada esa accion?, por otro lado dejar que las personas hagan su transferencia para causar problemas a los usuarios es un total abuso por parte de Poloniex

Thank you that was educational... seems the education now continues.

OK folks now SBD is disabled as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01