Steem Transaction and Post Activity, with BTC Transaction ComparisonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I wanted to see how the transaction activity for Steemit has been going, and how Bitcoin compares both now and when it started. Maybe there is some information to gleam from a comparative analysis. So I did that and decided to post about it.

I ask you to offer your insights from the charts, but no one really knows how things will go. This is just a creative exercise to see what we can envision as possibly coming ahead, from the current and previous activity.

Steem

This is Steem's transaction activity level each day since it was online:


The above includes all transactions, including posts and comments, everything.

This is Steem's post and comment activity level each day since it was online:


I haven't yet figured out how to do a subtraction chart, but if you subtract the posts and comments from the total transactions then you get a better idea of the non-posting transactions that are being made, such as those related to the token itself.

This is what it looks like with an approximate adjustment on my part (not exact):


So that is the non-post transactions, that include all the token transactions involved, just not the posts themselves. This represents a more or less (I think, correct me please) the financial activity on the blockchain.

This prepares the data for a slightly more accurate comparison with Bitcoin.

Bitcoin

Here is the Bitcoin transaction activity (Confirmed Transactions Per Day) since 2009, with a 3 year section in a green box for relative comparison to Steem.


This is the same graph, but smaller, just to show you how it changes:


And now the Bitcoin transaction level for the first 3 year approximately.


I took that activity first because it was relative to the start of Bitcoin, and we are at the start of Steem.

This is what Steem looks like in terms of the first major bump in Bitcoin activity.


But, there is also the transaction volume to account for. That means another relative comparison needs to be done in terms of transactions scale.

So that's what I did next, to try to match Steem's transaction levels to Bitcoin's transaction levels.

Here is an overlay of Steem so far, at the transaction high matched to the same and current Bitcoin transaction activity level:


To me, that looks a bit more accurate considering the transactions levels match more. But the other one was more a start-up time frame, so it might match more.

Anyways, what do you think? Does this indicate where we are going? It's all just speculation, but it's a bit of fun to fantasize and dream about what we think is going to happen to Steem :P


Bonus, Steem's post only (no comments) activity level mainly coming from Steemit.com:


Well that's it for the charts and comparison.

Who knows what the future holds. But personally, it looks promising to me :)

What do you think?


References:
https://blockchain.info/charts/n-transactions?timespan=all


Thank you for your time and attention! I appreciate the knowledge reaching more people. Take care. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider:

Upvoting, Sharing, and Resteeming below.

Follow me for more content to come!


@krnel
2017-01-08, 7:15pm

Sort:  

Hello @krnel,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

o0o thanks again!

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

круто

Nice analysis and great charts. Looks like healthy activity to me and seems to be following btc. I am hopeful, we shall see.

Hopeful indeed. It looks bright :) Thanks for the feedback.

I've been trying to get these statistics thanks. Now It's easier to see a bigger picture.

Sweet! Glad it helped you out as well. I was curious and just had to spend hours trying to get this data... lol... but I learned how to do it now. Thanks for the feedback.

Thanks for making a post about it. I've seen similar posts but they've been missing for the past few weeks. Maybe you could fill that hole? I'd like to see all kinds of data lrelated to steemit.

You're welcome. Fill what hole? Not sure I understand what you're asking. Thanks.

There were posts about various stats related to steemit like new users, user activity etc. but I haven't seen them for weeks. Now that you have the knowledge to pull the data and show it you could do those posts.

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

I have been wondering about this as well. Thank you for doing the work to put all these charts together @krnel. The confirmed transactions per day chart is especially exciting to see!

Hehe, yes exciting indeed. Thanks for the feedback.

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Great post here @krnel, pretty clear to see the parallels as you have drawn it out. Though steem is moving at a much quicker pace developmentally then early BTC did. Good times ahead :D

Yup, we are already in the "bitcoin" era, so the adoption was much quicker compared to when bitcoin was the first. So that skews things. But I tried to see how to match it the best. Thanks for the feedback :)

I think what you did makes sense. :)

Very clear
Math makes Truth :) ...this is a very heavy job
Waiting for voting activity and views if you make it or have it, maybe some more evidence and truth of the state of Steemit
We are not retaining and attracting good curators and authors a main strategic and tactical problem to deal right now, in the interest of the future and all the community as well as the Human and financial values of Steemit.
Some friends I invited to see steemit loved the idealistic aspect of it but they noticed some low-quality content and they are reluctant to join because they write high-quality content in psychology but they have scholar reputation to defend too
But one is going to join with anonymity heheh, because he liked the idea involved
Let's make Steemit a better world, writing content that changes people and reality and makes traditional media obsolete, the first thing I felt when I joined steemit, because I understood that it was the main goal

Looks like STEEM is no way inferior to BTC and is following it in every aspects lets hope it continues this way ad there are more STEEMians in future.by the way terrific work @krenel

The similarity with the five year lag is remarkable. This article is shocking to me. The transaction rate seems to have an asymptote at 9 000. Bitcoin is delivering. 280 000! This network's use is a long way from Bitcoin's use. Although theoretically Steem can do a lot more it really is a long way from demonstrating it can do as much as Bitcoin.

That's the thing with all of these other altercoins that have an increased blocksize limit. Basically if the Steem had a one megabyte per ten minute transaction limit, we would have never noticed.

Good point, thanks for the feedback. The block size that holds an amount of transactions would change things.

Great post ...very concise and informative report. These kinds of chart patterns occur in the early phases of a products life cycle. Of course some products can go on for a long time but they never recover the original momentum but rather plateau. In the case of bitcoin we should expect it to lead other currencies since it is the most established. Over time, bitcoin will be become obsolete but may still act as a reserve currency since it established the market place. Maybe the best thing is to get out of bitcoin and buy steem...so many breakthroughs in cryptocurrencies have occured since satoshi's paper first came out. I'm definitely voting up on this post.

Well thanks for the feedback. That's something to be aware for sure. We are riding he bitcoin popularity and any other crypto project can surpass it if it has the chops to provide more and better service, which Steem seems to have ;)

This relative comparison is awesome. Let's us speculate into a time frame of that potential surge in activity. From an investments stand point I really enjoy this type of info. Also, good because it kind of set expectations for realistically as opposed to thinking steem is going to be massive within weeks.

Thanks for the feedback. Glad it provides some insight for you :) I wasn't sure how good this would be for others, but it was some interesting information to consider.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45