The Steemit Board

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

When I first saw the Steemitboard I thought of it as a nice pice of gamification. You can see all those cool awards you can get:

What I did not know is that these awards are not the important part. Yesterday I found an article titled “8 Reasons Why Being a Steemit Plankton Sucks” and at the end I found the following table:

Logo Level Your SP in VESTS
Plankton 0 to 999'999 VESTS
Minnow 1'000'000 to 9'999'999 VESTS
Dolphin 10'000'000 to 99'999'999 VESTS
Ocra 100'000'000 to 999'999'999 VESTS
Whale more than 1'000'000'000 VESTS

And suddenly it dawned me. The truly important part is the fish on the top and the number underneath:

The number underneath your is your VEST you true level on Steemit and the decisive factor on how much your upvotes are worth. Your VEST is connected to your Steem-Power via the a variable called steem per mvests which you find on Steamd.

The formula is:


Steeem per mvest is (at the time of writing) at 488.304. From this you can calculate that to get into the Minnow group you would need ≈2048 Steam-Power. One year ago Steem was at 17 cent so that would have been ≈$350. Steep but doable.

But with Steem and Steam-Power currently at $5,88 that would equate to ≈$12'000. And for each new level you need to a add a 0 to that number. I am not sure that this is a realistic requirement. I bought a litte Steam-Power to boost my account and now I see that this was a mistake. I can never afford enough Steam-Power so it would make a difference to my account. I guess I just stay Plankton forever.

I begin to wonder if the huge success cryptocurrencies had last year will become a real problem as using the coin for anything becomes to expensive ti do anything with it but investment and trading. Not just for Steem — Bitcoin transaction fees anyone 😉. But coins need to useful to have value.

Sort:  

Thanks for this! I used refer to myself as a minnow cause I thought it was the lowest, turns out I'm still a plankton

I can never afford enough Steam-Power so it would make a difference to my account. I guess I just stay Plankton forever.

Not necessarily. You can gain Steem through curation and regular posting but the real trick is creating networks with people.

I don't think a Plankton can gain Steem by curation any more. When I started my votes counted for $0.01 but was usually rounded down to $0.00 on day 7. Which means that not even the author got any reward.

Now my votes won't even register for that. If i make an upvote an a new posting the value stays as $0.00. Neither I not the author gain anything from my upvote. Now it takes two plankton upvotes to register as $0.01.

And just this moment an evil thought crossed my mind: An upvote temporarily reduces my Steem-Power by 2%. Should Planktons upvote at all? Or is more effective for a Plankton not to upvote at all so Steem-Power stays at 100% all the time for the author reward. For the one in ten posting which get an author reward that is.

I've delegated 5 SP to you. Hope that helps you build up some Steem!

Thanks. I'll put it to good use by up-voting good content.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @krischik to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87