What is happening with active users & Steem on google.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I was checking @furion 's steemdata (https://steemdata.com/charts) website today, to see progress of steem activity.

Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 2.30.00 PM.png

I noticed that his chart of active daily users went from 25k to 3-1k. I am guessing this has to either be some sort of data glitch or an algorithm change of how active users are calculated.

Looking at all the other data of steem activity lets us suggest that such a change is not possible. I.e. if we look at the 2nd chart on steemdata we see that while posting activity is not growing it seems to stay steady.

Also according to hypestat steemit.com keeps growing daily. I have been checking the site and the number of active unique visitors keeps growing daily. I have yet to see a decline in this stat the few times I have checked this site.

Also notice the steady alexa growth rate and the search traffic growth.

Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 2.36.00 PM.png

Steemit has also been appearing in my google search results. I am not sure if this is because google is adjusting results for me or if steem has become one of the bigger trusted sites for google. Either way it seems more and more people reach steemit via google. Below is an example of putting the word steem as part of a search and how google reacts to it.

Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 2.43.13 PM.png

Sort:  

It is crazy how fast Steemit has climbed on Alexa! Won't be long before we are in the top 1000!

I personally do believe it has potential to be the next biggest social platform but there are a lot of issues the team needs to clear such as the integrity of content shared

Yeah it has to be some sorta glitch. There's just no way the active users just magically disappeared in a single day.

On the part of the glitch I have to agree with you mate, I think there is an error in the data but on the google search part, I think the search engine is biased due to your browser activity and it shows you what it thinks you want to read. Good post though, pointing the possible data error, it just doesn´t seem plausible at all.

Nice post Dear

Very strange dip there indeed. You made me curious. I guess the definition has changed for Daily Active User on the 7th of August. I know there has been some hunting on some spammers/upvote circles on the platform lately, but I cannot imagine that has such a dramatic effect.

Also, only the new created accounts already make up for at least 2k active users on a specific day on average... Hopefully someone here has the answer :-)

Steem platform is expanding more and more everyday and it will soon be spoken of from people's mouth . Google is already at the point where if I type Steem. It shows me posts of other users and so much more . The next big thing is here !!

@knircky I thinks it's beacuse newbies beacuse here are so much newbies those are not succeed it.
Just few months before I seen on facebook many of friends those who are CRPYTOTRADER + internet marketer and others people's are joined steemit but they were not trying to do hard work and than leave from steemit they were active only for sometime beacuse they were know from cryptotrading and internet marketing they make so much money and they have not have a to write a good articles. I have an great great network in facebook and If you believe me or not but I thinks 400+ my friend joined it those time but now they all are focused to on cryptotrading. Only 1 friends succedd in it they are consistently from last 2 months.
Steemit is not a that type of program you will be millionaire at 1 night here we need to consistent and tried to build our relationship it's a great key to success on steemit.

yea but even with this consideration this does not explain a drop from 25k to 1k. That's over 90%. Steem usage has not dropped this much.

@knircky steem wallet maintaince 'Again?? Truly I'm not sure!!

na it has to do with data collection.

I think Google just got the picture. It certainly wasn't adjusting it's results for you. Or at least, I can say on my part, I haven't been steeming for a few months as I was studying for the LSAT and moving into a new house. Now that I'm back, I went to google some steem stuff, and lo and behold, the very subject matter I was looking for showed up with presto, right on the top of the page! It was a eureka moment. It made me excited.

Really strange the active users drop while the post count didnt changes so much.
But is good to see we are getting more people interested on the site :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94