Steem Mining help.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I just need a bit of help getting started mining steem (assuming that's still possible).
I set up my file with my proper username and keys and added seed nodes and a checkpoint.
Everything seems to be alright as far as I can tell, but here's a screenshot of what I get when I started it up the first time a few minutes ago:

Is there anything wrong with this?
If so, what do I need to do to fix it?
If not, will the screen change after a certain amount of time as it's just loading? or is it stuck and I need to modify something?

Thank you in advance mates! :)

This is what my config.ini looks like:

The (#) are just to prevent them from being modified in markdown to keep the post cleaner. They are just #'s in the actual config.

(#) Endpoint for P2P node to listen on
(#) p2p-endpoint =

(#) Maxmimum number of incoming connections on P2P endpoint
(#) p2p-max-connections =

(#) P2P nodes to connect to on startup (may specify multiple times)
seed-node = 192.99.4.226:2001
seed-node = 46.252.27.1:1337
seed-node = 81.89.101.133:2001
seed-node = 52.4.250.181:39705
seed-node = 85.214.65.220:2001

(#) Pairs of [BLOCK_NUM,BLOCK_ID] that should be enforced as checkpoints.
checkpoint = [2931839 , "002cbc7f53cd19156412ac078ae8879114d92526"]

(#) Endpoint for websocket RPC to listen on
(#) rpc-endpoint =

(#) Endpoint for TLS websocket RPC to listen on
(#) rpc-tls-endpoint =

(#) The TLS certificate file for this server
(#) server-pem =

(#) Password for this certificate
(#) server-pem-password =

(#) Block signing key to use for init witnesses, overrides genesis file
(#) dbg-init-key =

(#) API user specification, may be specified multiple times
(#) api-user =

(#) Set an API to be publicly available, may be specified multiple times
public-api = database_api login_api

(#) Plugin(s) to enable, may be specified multiple times
enable-plugin = witness account_history

(#) Defines a range of accounts to track as a json pair ["from","to"] [from,to)
(#) track-account-range =

(#) RPC endpoint of a trusted validating node (required)
(#) trusted-node =

(#) Track market history by grouping orders into buckets of equal size measured in seconds specified as a JSON array of numbers
bucket-size = [15,60,300,3600,86400]

(#) How far back in time to track history for each bucket size, measured in the number of buckets (default: 5760)
history-per-size = 5760

(#) Defines a range of accounts to private messages to/from as a json pair ["from","to"] [from,to)
(#) pm-account-range =

(#) Enable block production, even if the chain is stale.
enable-stale-production = false

(#) Percent of witnesses (0-99) that must be participating in order to produce blocks
required-participation = false

(#) name of witness controlled by this node (e.g. initwitness )
witness = "kainmarx"

(#) name of miner and its private key (e.g. ["account","WIF PRIVATE KEY"] )
miner = ["kainmarx","not posting it cuz i think it's supposed to be a secret? lol :)"]

(#) Number of threads to use for proof of work mining
mining-threads = 4

(#) WIF PRIVATE KEY to be used by one or more witnesses or miners
(#) private-key =

(#) Account creation fee to be voted on upon successful POW - Minimum fee is 100.000 STEEM (written as 100000)
(#) miner-account-creation-fee =

(#) Maximum block size (in bytes) to be voted on upon successful POW - Max block size must be between 128 KB and 750 MB
(#) miner-maximum-block-size =

(#) SBD interest rate to be vote on upon successful POW - Default interest rate is 10% (written as 1000)
(#) miner-sbd-interest-rate =

(#) declare an appender named "stderr" that writes messages to the console
[log.console_appender.stderr]
stream=std_error

(#) declare an appender named "p2p" that writes messages to p2p.log
[log.file_appender.p2p]
filename=logs/p2p/p2p.log
(#) filename can be absolute or relative to this config file

(#) route any messages logged to the default logger to the "stderr" logger we
(#) declared above, if they are info level are higher
[logger.default]
level=warn
appenders=stderr

(#) route messages sent to the "p2p" logger to the p2p appender declared above
[logger.p2p]
level=warn
appenders=p2p

Sort:  

The same thing is happening to me when I try to mine. I haven't gotten anywhere. I upvoted you. Please consider upvoting my post. https://steemit.com/steemit/@brianphobos/an-olympian-needs-our-help-steemit-please-read-this-if-you-have-ever-been-passionate-about-something

Thank you mate! I upvoted your post, it was a great read and I wish you much success on it! Hopefully we will get our answers soon, I would love to mine steem in addition to earn it! :)

Your private WIF key is visible on the screenshot you have posted, remove it ASAP!!!

Also make sure you use the Active and not the Owner key and be careful not to reveal it to anyone...

Thank you!! I had no idea.. Which part was that, so I can blank it out and re-post the pic.

Ok I think I fixed it, thank you for noticing!! I almost didn't.. LOL

Thats better :)

So, is it still possible to mine Steem? And would it make sense/be effective on i.e. a standard laptop?

Well, from what articles I've read so far, steem is mined through cpu power, but you don't technically "mine" it, you become a "witness?" (someone who knows better, correct me if I'm wrong.) and get steem power through solving problems given to you. I guess that would mean that it depends on your laptop's cpu power and ram allocation and what you could get away with. Again, I'm asking for help to get started here, so hopefully our answers will be met with a better knowledge base. :)

Hi, I just started also mining a few hours today using this guide: https://steemit.com/steem/@bitcube/steem-mining-in-microsoft-windows-a-miner-s-guide-part-2. My system is running, & will wait maybe for 2 days to see whether can get something. Hope your issue be resolved as I have not encountered any using the guide above.

So your miner is working? Did you need to do anything beyond that guide?
I saw those articles too when I was searching steem mining. It seemed way too complicated for me, I'm not really technically adept in this area to be honest.. So if there was a way I could get things already all set up to where I just need to input my info into a certain file or cmd line, that would be more ideal.
Thanks for the input, hope you make a good bit! :)

Hi, yes, its still working and I gain 0.01562M Vests as of today. The miner found 4 POW total (1 pow per day).

I may say that rewards wise, it is not worth it. We may gained more by posting & curating/upvoting.

I also not so technically adept, I just follow the guide, and luckily it work for me. Will keep miner run for a week or two. If gain is the same or become less, will just shut it down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36