So You’re Still Here...

in #steem6 years ago

Congratulations, you made it! You’re still here Steeming. We hear a lot about the people that have powered down and left us all in the dust (I didn’t know them personally, but apparently they exist). We hear a lot from the instant-gratification junkies, those with dollar signs in their eyes and Lambos in their hearts. While the price falls, the screams of the fearful have a tendency to outweigh the conversations of the resilient, causing widespread F, U, and D.

But look at you! You’re still here. It might be because you ‘came for the riches and you stayed for the community’, a common catch phrase here on the platform. You might have actually found the money you desired already and see the chance of rapid multiplication of the Steem value on the horizon. You might just be here waiting for something “better” to come along, and honestly, I don’t blame you. We should all be watching for the next big social media blockchain phenomenon to come about.

Until then, however, this is what we’ve got. And even at 85c, it’s pretty fucking awesome! Steem isn’t a rare, behemoth coin like Bitcoin, with a price that will make people shit their pants on the good days. Steem is a flowing resource, something I think of more as a utility coin, being distributed to (practically) anyone that takes part in the system. This is the reason that I don’t worry as much about the price (and you must not either, by virtue of your still being here and all!). You can gather so much Steem in so many different ways. You never know when it all will have been worth it. Main point: Don’t dwell on the dip - prepare for the future.

People talk about the future a lot - and this post is me putting in my 2c. Regardless of price, markets, FUD, and everything else, we are part of the future here at Steem. Tokenized social media is going to be a big part of life in the coming decades. If you want evidence of that, just look at non-tokenized social media. Congratulations for sticking around and being part of this radical, innovative experiment.

Together we stand, divided we fall.
~ Pink Floyd

7E98E1F0-B918-45F3-B0DB-EBFE666E2422.png

Sort:  

I'm new here as of today (14 August '18), and have been cautiously poking around on the site. I've been looking for a site that will, eventually, replace Facebook. I enjoy socializing online, learning what's happening in the world, discussing stuff with others wherever they may be. I'll stick around. Who knows? This may be the paradise of the internet!

Welcome to the site. It can take some getting used to but what you are doing here is great. Commenting really helps to grow your following a lot faster than anything else.

There is a lot of gloom in the air at the moment because the price is a little low but don't let that get you down. This is a great time to post because you get way more SP in your payouts and that is super important.

I think it certainly has the potential to be a “paradise of the internet”, haha :) It sounds like you’ll fit in great here at Steem, @bitemore!

I feel you. There is too much panic but it isn't the doomsday people are making it out to be. I wrote about a similar topic but from a different angle last night. The way I see it, with some people giving up and running, there is less "noise" to keep our voices from being noticed and I have been getting more attention lately despite the price.

"We should all be watching for the next big social media blockchain phenomenon to come about." Haha I just singed up for one in fact. It isn't live yet though so all I could do was pick a name and suggest tags.

The way I see it, with some people giving up and running, there is less "noise" to keep our voices from being noticed and I have been getting more attention lately despite the price.

This is a good point indeed!

I just singed up for one in fact.

Cool stuff, what’s it called?

It is called Narrative. It is still in alpha right now but I the beta is going to start later this year. I haven't really messed with it yet though other than to pick my user name (the same one I use here) and I suggested one tag.

I think you can buy the rights to tags or something too and you get a little piece of what it earns but I haven't really looked into that.

I figure that if it works out it is great and if it doesn't, I can just use it as a "best of" for some of my old steemit content lol.

I’ll keep an eye out for it, thanks for the heads up b! All the best :)

Great post @k0wsk1 !! Very well said.

Thanks for stopping by, @tryskele!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67