You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Fix Steemit For Communities & Viral Engagement

in #steem8 years ago

I like this idea, it makes a ton of sense to me. Valuing users more strongly who are attracting unique followers is important, however those followers should be weighted as well. Just weighting in followers who don't follow anyone else would highly value the creation of random accounts to just follow your specific accounts, and would bring new life into bots. Thus the SP of the followers should also be taken into account, to more heavily weight real people.

Sort:  

I like this idea, it makes a ton of sense to me. Valuing users more strongly who are attracting unique followers is important

Ty. Agreed.

Just weighting in followers who don't follow anyone else would highly value the creation of random accounts to just follow your specific accounts, and would bring new life into bots

No I don't think so, because they have to be verified and reach a certain threshold in their #verification tagged blog post. Which means they can't just be some random Sybil accounts. They have be convincing real users.

I think we want to weight by uniqueness of followers, because this separates out the sub-communities from the one-size-fits-all popularity groupthink in terms of where voting power and thus rewards go.

The whales benefit from the increased viral adoption thus driving the value of their STEEM POWER higher, meaning any cost to the whale in terms of reduced relative voting power weighting is I posit offset by unique diverse communities driving viral adoption.

Ah, I think I misinterpreted the point of the #verification tagged post. So the community decides whether an account is human or not. Nice. Okay, then I can see the complete value in this proposal. Hopefully the devs catch wind of it and can at least give it some consideration.

Hopefully the devs catch wind of it and can at least give it some consideration.

Yeah this is just part of the brainstorming process. I don't expect my idea is 100% iconclad or complete. Just throwing it into the mix of ideas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48