What can be done?

in #steem8 years ago

The little guy has quite the wall to climb here... how does he ever build up enough steem to become relevant? If you are not a celebrity or have a massive social media following already, what can you do to get your voice heard?

If you are a little guy and you don't already have a large following on other social media sites that you can get to follow you over here, how do you build up a large following here? People say just keep posting good content and it will happen, however, I have seen many posters that have been doing just that for weeks and have barely budged.

They have followed the best available advice:

  1. Post good content
  2. Continuously post good content for weeks
  3. Only post 4 posts per day
  4. Only vote on good content
  5. Only vote at the "right times" to maximize the vote
  6. Participate in the comments section
  7. Participate in the chat

With all these tips being followed yet still not much advancement, they appear to be spinning their wheels with not much hope in sight.

It seems to be a difficult cycle to break out of. No one follows you so you do not earn steem for content creation because no one votes on it. Your steem power is too low to earn anything from curation so your votes basically don't count for much, so again I ask, how does the little guy make it big on steemit? The deck seems pretty stacked against him.

What can be done about this?

Sort:  

I like this! It's an easy read and has good tips. I think what people don't realize is it takes a while to start gaining momentum. I didn't have success immediately either. You also need to go out and comment other peoples stuff to gain a proper following.

Thanks. Yea that is the hope... it might just be a very slow start before you start gaining "steem" (ha no pun intended) ;)

Oh and you can give me a follow if you like @jrcornel :)

You have visitor @jrcornel
I think you forget who is your followers .
You need to know who is your upvotee
The advice is just a guide lines ok

Yes true, but if all my followers are fellow minnows like myself their upvotes don't move the needle much. It seems if whales don't take interest it is tough to make a buck.

Thanks for stopping in by the way, give me a follow @jrcornel :)

Huh!! You miss the point again.
You have been follow since the last met.
Your needle not moving because I didn't upvote .
Do you know how many of my comment I made attract some whales?
As I am a plankton , I follow a few whales, they are follow me too.
Don't presume no one watching you.
I comments more than I doing posting.
I get paid , more than my blogging.

Sure I'll follow you. Give the thumbs up to my posts please. :)

You are making a living here? It says your account is currently worth $200... how are you making a living from here?

I collect pennies

Ok I will bite... what content helped you attract the whales?

Shhhh, I can't reveal
I am making a living here.
Everyone have their own way.
I guess I already giving out too much hint.
Anyway you know where to find me. If you get stuck pop in and say hello

Good question. It seems that the rich get richer and the poor stay poor on here just like everywhere else. A few people have too much power etc. It seems to be a popularity contest more so than about content. I guess a better distribution of voting power would be a good start.

Why doesn't everyone have equal voting power?

Even then it could still be a popularity contest... but then more to the masses

Whoever is the most invested has the power. The developers have around 90% of voting power right now which is kind of ridiculous. The whales make or break people on here. It's an extremely flawed system at the moment. Maybe in time it will balance out better as more people come on but if people keep getting ignored because they have no voting power or only get votes from minnows people will abandon this platform in the long run.

Eventually it will just be the celebrities talking back and forth on here...

Yep. If people show up day after day, do work and contribute good content yet get nothing in return they will leave, as they should!

I''m working it, just like you. I follow you, so I read all your stuff. I like it, so I vote it. Unfortunately my minnow vote is worthless to you. I have tried shift my subject matter to see if I gain some traction. Hmmm one shows $3.50 and one today has hit $9 perhaps we need to understand our audience here. Look at them as consumers. What are they hungry for. Maybe,I keep trying new angles.

$9 is great... that is pretty good for the minnows ;)

What was the subject matter? I've tried different subject and different styles but not much has caught on...

Oh yes, I gave you an upvote ;)

you have to tell me more than that- was it content, subject matter, seriously its a short piece. What makes this work different and makes you come back here and respond like that.

It won't let me comment to your other post, but honestly a lot had to do with the fact that others liked it as well. The thought is if it gains enough momentum one can also get paid off of someone's created content... It seems like a wasted vote if I vote for something no one else votes for, especially since my vote doesn't move the needle much, yet :)

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60700.74
ETH 2389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64