You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fixing the Reputation Score and Eliminating Spam: A follow up to User Authority

in #steem7 years ago

I like the idea of user authority, I just need a little more time to fully digest the implications. It's definitely not a subtle change. I don't think we should entirely throw SP as a source of weighting, because there need to be incentives for new members to invest into Steem to increase their authority. That's where the future valuation comes from.

I've been thinking that a blend between user authority and SP could be used to determine rewards. (Maybe an exponentially weighted average, so that whichever you have more of determines your total contribution?) The math gets pretty complicated, as it does for user authority, and I have not had the time for a full analysis.

Until I see a good argument against, or have the time for the analysis, I am tentatively supportive of giving user authority some weight in determining rewards, but not the full weight.

Sort:  

I've been thinking that a blend between user authority and SP could be used to determine rewards.

vote_reward = UA * SP

Thanks. Like I said, I need a little more time to fully digest the implications. Apparently that also means a little more time to read it more slowly and let it sink in.

Edit: Now I've read your full proposal (both posts) and left some comments there. Thanks for being a little patient with me to point out that you had already included what I was suggesting. I did read this page before I did more than scan your own proposals.

I definitely appreciate the elegance of the solution, and I hope that effective execution in utopian-io convinces some of the naysayers into giving it proper consideration for Steem as a whole.

I think that could be a good solution. I have been kind of thinking that it would work as a little bit of a checks and balances situation. Steem Power is based on stake (money) and gives you the power to distribute rewards and UA would be based on how much people trust your judgement, and would give you the power to give posts a good/bad reputation and therefore, make them more discoverable and more trusted. It could be like a form of curation. UA decides whether or not we should trust a post, and SP decides how much it is worth? Something along those lines.

Great idea. How can that become reality?

Good question! haha. I guess just getting the ideas out there so that the developers can come up with the best way to do this. The better the idea gets, the more likely it will be picked up by someone who can make this happen

Your word in God's ear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50