You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dolphin cocoon project! Input and help wanted!

in #steem6 years ago

I get confused when talking fish. I am a Minnow now. But before that I was a Plankton. The Plankton is where I see all these wonderful projects aimed. And I don't think that's a bad thing--I think it's good. Some of those programs helped me as I got started out.

But I don't see many projects aimed at those officially recognized as Minnows. I see folks saying they're for minnows, but it seems to me they just don't want to use the 'Plankton' word.

This isn't to take away from your proposal. I'm certain it will be well-received especially among Dolphins. It's just that, as a Minnow, I get tired of seeing references to Minnow support projects that actually are there to help until one becomes a Minnow. They are in fact Plankton support projects.

I wonder what the subtle inferences would be over time within the Dolphin group. It would, I think, set a sort of precedent: A fish group with support projects only for that fish group. As I understand it now, the groups above have support groups for the ones below. (Maybe the Whales should support the Dolphins?)

I'd worry some about the increased view that those in the upper echelons of steemit care only for themselves. Just look on any given day and find articles about Whale-for-Whale upvotes and you'll see what I mean.

My personal opinion is that we are adults, or try to be. Yes, support groups for fresh Plankton are a great idea. But once one has reached Minnow, True Minnow status, one should be taking responsibility for one's progress and fortune.

We know by now what it takes to succeed here. At some point we take off the training wheels, and this is that point. Every level above is just as responsible for themselves, and doing what they can to help the Plankton, Minnows, and Dolphins swimming in their wake.

The best way to help ourselves is to help the platform, and the best way to do that is to give. We don't need to be coddled. We don't need guarantees. We know that's not the way the world works.

Apologies for such a long post. I perhaps should have created a post on my blog.

Sort:  

A lot of people are getting tired of this. You nailed it also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66278.74
ETH 3072.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68