One Feature I'd Love To See On STEEM (Heck, It Might Already Exist....?)

in #steem6 years ago (edited)


I joined the STEEM blockchain on December 7th 2017...Yup, right when everything was headed to the moon in crypto ;)

I had heard about STEEM around this time last year, but didn't dive in and get an account until December. Not sure why but I have no regrets... I'm so grateful I joined when I did!

And part of my game plan when I first got started was to learn everything I could, engage with the community and share valuable content with people on STEEM. I came in, as a blank slate...I didn't know a single person on STEEM, and I was a complete noob.

Heck, in fact I still consider myself a noob at this stuff and enjoy learning each and everyday!

Part of my 'noob-ness' is lacking knowledge on all the features of the blockchain. I'm grateful for guys like @brandonfrye who help newer Steemians learn the in's and out's of the blockchain...There is so much to learn and every day I seem to discover new potential for STEEM and it's all apps.

One of the biggest attractions I have to STEEM is it's social media component....This is a social media blockchain after all :)

While I've made the switch and spend most of my time here on STEEM rather than other social media sites, some popular features can't be easily found...One feature I can't find here on STEEM is an 'at mention'...

Now before I go any further...If this feature exists, I apologize because like I said...I'm still learning and who knows if this feature DOES exist already.

But I would love to see when people 'mention' me and if this exists, where can I find it?

I'm a huge believer in engagement on the blockchain!

And I think if people knew they were being mentioned, it would allow them to keep track of others and continue the discussions with them.

It's one of the best parts of Twitter....

twitter

In this I can see who followed me, Tweeted me, engaged with me and mentioned me...Man oh man, would something like this be AWESOME for STEEM!

Now again, this may already exist...If it does, apologies for my ignorance.

But if it doesn't...What a great way to add more value to the blockchain...If we could see who engages with us easily without having to fight for that information, that would allow us to engage and keep the communication lines open...

So while I know we don't want to model ourselves after Twitter and Facebook, it would be nice to add some similar features that can help us network and engage with more followers...

Just my thoughts, what do you think?

(Or better yet...If this exists, can someone show me where....)


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/one-feature-id-love-to-see-on-steem-heck-it-might-already-exist/

Sort:  

So the @jongolson mentions... nope to currently listed on Steemit Inc.

  1. steemworld.org
  2. steemify mobile app
  3. bsteem Mobile
  4. minnowbooster paid service
  5. soon to be included in Partiko mobile app
  6. I have heard of a desktop app which does mentions have not looked into it
  7. Gina bot alerts through discord I think will do mentions

Biggest downfall of any platform not having mentions IMO even @DTube has included mentions in its notifications tab

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great selection. I'd like to add busy.org to your list. It has mentions.

Yes it does, good catch!

Posted using Partiko iOS

awesome. yeah i knew there had to be options but didn’t think there was any on steemit. thanks for the info sir. appreciated.

Posted using Partiko iOS

No worries, my personal choice atm is steemify. You can customize many features of the alerts for any account.

Posted using Partiko iOS

checking out steemify too now. urgh i’m an idiot...i should have known about this with the amount of stuff i read from @exyle

Posted using Partiko iOS

yah...it's excellent! great for following other users mentions also. exyle did a post once...on how they follow ned's account activity etc...through the app. i check my steemify app more than any other. would have missed out on TONS...of mentions of my name on the blockchain with this amazing app! missing @exyle 's daily videos! he's such a gift to this blockchain!

not sure if @jarvie added "mentions" to @steempeak ? but they do have notifications. steempeak UI....is amazing. i'm sure they will add it soon.

ya. i’ve been playing with it since last night. it’s pretty slick. very functional.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea he really down plays his role with that app, nothing fancy, opens links in normal steemit browser but it’s by far the best stand alone for notifications though sometimes a little laggy

Posted using Partiko iOS

cool cool. thanks for the heads up tho. i’ve downloaded it and trying it out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi Jon!
Yeah, mentions are super important, especially if you want to engage with other Steemians.
I use @ginabot, so I can have notifications in real-time.
You can also check mentions in Steemworld... and I don't know if @partiko app is able to give mentions notifications (you have to check that).
Ciao ciao from Switzerland
Steemitri The Mannequin

It's already under development, which is how we found out about your mentioning us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh that's great!!! Awesome news!
Have a great day!!!
Big Plastic Hug
Steemitri The Mannequin

thanks for that. yeah that would be awesome if @partiko had that feature. appreciate the info too. i’ll check that out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think you have an official answer now ;-)
Luckily we mention @partiko ;-)
Have a great sunday!

ha ha ha right? great to hear all the present options and upcoming ones too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wouldn't use Steemit.com as a reference for front-end interfaces. There are others better. Many say it's not good to have a low quality front-end interface so easily mistaken for Steem itself. But it's the direction Steemit Inc. has chosen. It is good onboarding will probably become more dispersed after HF20.

Regarding mentions, I added an option to @d00k13's answer, which pretty much covers them.

ya. it’s pretty straight forward but a mention tab would be something you’d think they would add. weird lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

steemworld.org has that, it give out two notifications in windows-10, the first notification is new followers and the second popup notification is mentions

awesome. thanks for letting me know. i’ll go check that out now! i knew there had to be something out there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I completely agree with all of the comments already made as far as awesome services like SteemWorld or Ginabot. Have you tried Busy.org yet? It's a condenser like Steemit.com but also has native notifications built in plus many other features like being mobile friendly, playing videos within a post, vote slider regardless of SP and many more!

ya i was busy only when i first got started. just so i could use the slider lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Jon yes it would be great if you could do that on here for sure.

it would add so much to the experience i think. if @partiko added it, that would be awesome.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The mention feature will be available soon. Stay tuned!

Posted using Partiko Android

heaven!!! awesome news.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Curious how we found out about your mentioning us? 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

ha ha ha ha man oh man. that’s just a tease!! lol looking forward to it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

i think some third party apps offer this service, but if the official website, which is steemit.com can adopt this it will go a long way.

some of this third party apps do not work well with smaller phones and given the fact that most o steemit users are from thirdworld countries. it is really hard to access them. i currently use a blackberry z3-- an old old phone, and some of the features on third party apps don't work on my phone

ya it would be nice for something to work well across all platforms for sure. that would be a huge step.

Posted using Partiko iOS

it exists on busy.org. i havent complained on it. the notifications is so handy.... plus you can see all kinds of stats there in the activity tab qazwedef.JPGcheers!

awesome. thanks i had no idea busy had all those features.

Posted using Partiko iOS

they are in the "activity" tab. yeah its interesting., i found about it from the get go as i stumbled on post. so i aquired it to my skill set. and it is very handy. otherwise id be a blind mole here on steemit. we need to distribute the tools to everyone. have a nice day, and keep on steemin!

quick refference qazwedef.JPG i do not get many mentions :( but i managed to found one. upper bell is when you get a notification it turns blue with number on it , that tells you how many notifications you have.

Thanks Jon. I agree it would be cool to have this option here at Steemit. I get using busy and waiting for the steemify app to be available on Android. Fore information: BlockBrothers is already working on that.

yup. i should have known better and dove into steemify more lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well now I have a ton of research to do! So many flavors of the frontend interface... A little overwhelming... LOL Thank you for the post now to learn some more tools. I like KISMIF myself... Keep It Simple Make It Fun for those who do not know... LOL

keep it simple. exactly. it should be seamless and incorporated into the user experience

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45