1.000.000 accounts on Steem. So what? - What makes Steem so innovative?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I know, a million accounts do not seem like anything compared to the actual growth on other social networks like Facebook, Twitter, etc. So, why am I so excited? What is the difference between 1 million accounts on Steem and 1 million accounts on Facebook?


Source

There is an abysmal difference!

When a friend told me about STEEM, I did not know shit about crypto, in fact, I had a very bad idea, I thought that most of them were based on fantasies or scams (I was an idiot, I know).

I still remember, this guy came up from nowhere and told me that he was in a social network, earning money from posting his creative work... hmmmmm, I was very skeptical about it, I thought something like: " that has to be like a PTC system or those weird things, I don't want to earn pennies for hours of effort, I prefer to sell nudes "...

I ended up joining because a few days later I saw guys earning a lot of money by creating good content, like @teamsteem, @donkeypong, etc. And projects like @openmic, @cervantes and @minnowsupport just blew my brain up. At that moment I thought: These guys are just amazing!". I've known about Dan Larimer thanks to a post by teamsteem, the whole paradigm about blockchain and cryptocurrencies change to me once I readed that post. My friend told me that in the future it would be harder to grow on "Steemit", so I decided to join and take advantage of it, and to this day I don't regret anything.

THANK YOU!

@disclaimerhffmn



So, like I said before what difference does Steemit have from another social network?

Ok, maybe it's complicated, the first and most important thing to understand is that Steemit and Steem are not the same, Steemit is the social network, and Steem is the blockchain, which allows to run open source social-aimed applications or just social networks, whatever you want to call it, like Steemit, Busy, Dlive, Dtube, etc.

STEEM > STEEMIT

How does Steem work?

It's simple, let me show you an example: There is a social network called Steemit, which allows people to register with user names to post their articles and comments. Behind this, you have Steem, the blockchain, which is made up of computers called "nodes" administered by people around the world called "witnesses", each of these nodes keeps an exact copy of the blockchain, and every time a block is mined the witnesses earn rewards in STEEM. It is important to understand that each of these nodes contains an exact copy of the blockchain, that is, all the transactions that are made on Steem, which unlike other blockchains, considers the post, comments and votes as transactions, not just the transfers of the cryptocurrency or token.

Awesome fact: The witnesses are chosen by the users according to their STEEM POWER, this is part of something called "delegated proof of stake"

That the blockchain is in each of the nodes is what makes it distributed and not centralized, and that's not all, it also has a consensus mechanism for being "censorship resistent": If a node contains a bad copy of the blockchain, it will be kicked out of this consensus mechanism within all the other nodes and it will lose blocks, and that is bad because it means that the witness runing that node it will loss rewards in STEEM.

And this brings us to something very important, and that is that the blockchain is almost completely immutable, if you wanted to erase something you would have to destroy the data that exists in all these nodes, something practically impossible.

Awesome fact: All your post, comments, votes and transfers only take a maximun of 3 and 6 seconds to be in hundreds of nodes around the world, impressive.

Now comes the innovative part, the "proof of brain" system, the blockchain has a "rewards pool", the users decide based on their STEEM POWER what percentage of that reward pool goes to the author, in a positive way with the upvote and in a negative way with the flag. All this is calculated by a mechanism that exist within the blockchain.

SO MUCH INNOVATION, WOW

holy shit

Do you want know more? Do you want your brain exploded?

read this


Source

Maybe I've been too technical, let me explain it in an easier way.

STEEM allows any user to earn rewards by posting articles and comments, and also allows them to reward others with STEEM or SBD by liking their content, these cryptocurrencies can be traded for other cryptocurrencies or FIAT.

As you see, it is not a centralized system based on sharing content, as in other conventional social networks. It is a decentralized and distributed system that allows users to grow together by adding value to the platform and helping each other. That's how beautiful and different Steem is.

The most surprising thing is that you will surely be doing the same thing you do in other social networks, only that now you respect the content of others and dedicate yourself to contribute original content more elaborated, or maybe you will continue to share the same original quality content that you contribute on other social networks.

easy peasy, you dont have to be a fucking genius to be part of Steem


My experience on Steem

I made money, I made friends and I learned a lot about many things. I discovered that today we have a tool to change the world, all we is need is commitment and the desire to learn more.

Thanks to Steem I also founded a project aimed to facilitate the adoption of the Steemit social network and the Steem blockchain by the Latin American artistic community. @celfmagazine



Thank to those who have helped me grow on this platform. Thanks to @aggroed for making this contest.


Image

Image Source
Design: @Cre47iv3

Sort:  

Congratulations @joedukeg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hey, Qué tal, he estado leyendo tus post y de verdad me gustaría aportar al proyecto Cleft, me parece una iniciativa artística maravillosa. Besos y saludos! espero verte por mis post.

Hola qué tal? visitanos en el server Discord https://discord.gg/fbpR3Ef

Omfg. No puedo creer que no supiera esto a estas alturas, brutal, brutal post. Lo entendí y en inglés! :')
(Lamento el retraso de un mes con el que te comento los posts)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62571.47
ETH 2429.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66