I am not a "true" anarchist....purists, beware

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I am looped in with a great bunch of people via social media. Thousands of people whom I have never met, yet I consider them to be the smartest, most driven people to walk the planet. There are varying degrees of them, but the common thread that binds us is the fact that we realize the state is a major obstacle to happiness.

I consider myself to be one of them. However, most of my life is an antithesis. I have yet to really avoid taxation. I'm in the military. I suck at debate. I haven't finished anything by Rothbard, or Spooner, or Hoppe. My kids aren't homeschooled. I don't have a garden. Most of all, I tolerate the state as long as my life remains manageable. I don't participate in its rituals, so I suppose there is that. But as of right now, I am less concerned with ending the state, than I am with ensuring my life remains comfortable.

I think that once I am out of the military, I can start focusing more on being as good a person (holistically speaking) as my friends.

Sort:  

Great post, brother!

Nice post. I'm in a similar situation. Especially when you add kids into the mix, it's hard to completely isolate yourself. But, at least we are aware of what is really going on and not being blindly herded like most people. Little by little we can make changes to get away from this system without completely disrupting the lives of our family.

As a vet anx an ancap, Id recommend saving up that military money and start a business. Buy bitcoin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50