You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: List Of Steemit Changes & Patch Notes For The Platform Update On 8/8/16

in #steem8 years ago

I feel the flow of information could be improved too.

Right now, I'm assuming the situation is that the developers have better things to do than write up what they're changing. It's moving from one feature to another in rapid succession, in attempt to keep the rocket flying.

I know this workflow all too well, there's nothing wrong with it. It's exciting.

We need some people (with free time) to be injected into that workflow. We need non-busy observers to be invited into their communication channels (without minimal interruption to their processes) so they can write up documentation for others. All the developers would have to do is ask for a topic to be reported on.

For some of my projects, I wish I had this opportunity, to just explain to somewhat what I did, and they'd go talk about it.

At this point I'd offer myself to be one of these observers as well. For me it would be a great way to learn even more about the project, it's direction, and how I could integrate my abilities to best serve the effort.

Sort:  

@jesta I know exactly what you mean. Once you start coding this large of a project the work never stops and you'll even find members of your own team at times going, WTF? When did we do that? hahahaha But the rush that comes with it is truly amazing, so I can't really fault anyone for riding the wave so to speak.

We need some people (with free time) to be injected into that workflow. We need non-busy observers to be invited into their communication channels (without minimal interruption to their processes) so they can write up documentation for others. All the developers would have to do is ask for a topic to be reported on.

This right here, oh god a million times this!!! ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I've seen some of your projects and the rep one is both amazingly simple to use and useful but it was buried so fast very few people saw it before it was lost to the insanely disorganized mass of posts (thankfully bookmarked the second I saw it). I'm glad I saw it trending today because it all but got buried the first time I came across it.

As far as being a runner between Devs and Users? Most large scale projects have people to do just that, and only that. I'm not sure the term "free time" would best describe my life but I'd be willing to make time for this project given the opportunity as well.

Now the Million Dollar question regarding this thread is, will this thread even been seen by someone important before it is buried under the deluge of new posts from the quickly growing user base?

Given the math :
(50,000 users) x (Avg. 2 posts a day) = How on earth can anyone read all this before the new posts come flying in and bury it?! You'd have to be a freaking search engine to find anything as was evident when you found my post asking for help when you yourself were seeking help. LOL.

On a sidenote I updated that thread to include specs and a hashrate but someone's all but DDOS'ing the mining cue right now so good luck submitting a POW to a witness before you're tossed back in the cue, back to square one waiting in line again for one lousy STEEM.

My guess is this post was a bit of a crap shoot, but it doesn't hurt to try and get this suggestion out there. Who knows, maybe we'll draw a crowd large enough to bump it enough before the 12 hour window expires and this thread is simply relegated to the archives of the blockchain...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57679.84
ETH 2442.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34