How to Write Good Comments (three easy tips)

in #steem7 years ago

I’ve been thinking about what makes a good comment and how to make real connections on Steem. Drawing on some of the lessons from a professional business writing course that I teach, I thought I’d share some writing advice (and make sure to implement it myself).    

Three easy tips that will help you to create stand-out comments

1. Avoid the generic.

 If you’ve read the post (and you should if you plan to comment on it), then it will be easy to avoid making a generic statement. Find something specific in the post that drew your attention--why did you click on it in the first place? Did any part of it make you think? Raise an interesting question? Engage you in some way? Comment on that.  

Generic (weaker comment): Interesting post! Thanks for sharing!  

Specific (stronger comment): I find your offgrid lifestyle inspiring, and I am always interested in your recipes made with things you have foraged. 

 2. Create meaningful conversation.

Build on your specific comment in order to make a real connection. Once you develop a real connection, the person posting may look at your profile (and follow you)—and you will have done so without (annoyingly) asking someone to follow you or check out your blog.    

After making a specific comment, don’t let the comment be the end of the engagement—open things up with a question. 

E.g. I find your offgrid lifestyle inspiring, and I am always interested in your recipes made with things you have foraged. I’m curious: do you have a go-to guide to help you identify plants? I’d be worried that I’d be foraging something that could be harmful to eat.    

3. Offer something of value.

If it fits in naturally with the conversation, see what you can offer the blogger in return for their quality post.   

E.g. I find your offgrid lifestyle inspiring, and I am always interested in your recipes made with things you have foraged. I’m curious: do you have a go-to guide to help you identify plants? I’d be worried that I’d be foraging something that could be harmful to eat. P.S. Have you ever read Tim MacWelch's  book How to Survive Off the Grid? He offers really specific, useful ways to get started like how to collect rainwater and run a house off of batteries—I think you’d enjoy it.     

Okay! Ready. Set. Steem! 

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jessicakluthe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

These are valuable suggestions, however, we are not sure if big whales do read our comments. I noticed some big fish just posting three or four times a day and never replied to anyone. But that's okay, I will not do this once I become a big fish :D
Thanks for this great post @jessicakluthe

I see what you are saying... but they are tips to help build your network and connections (they would work on Steemit and elsewhere). I think it's a good idea to not solely focus on getting the attention of whales but rather building a solid base of followers. What do you think?

It is absolutely important to get the attention of your base and more important to find a community that encourages engagement and be active inside it. I really was hoping more of a community would start to form around you as your blogs definitely create an atmosphere for it to happen.

I find far too many people going around spamming generic nonsense hoping to get a few cent upvotes then add anything meaningful in the comment sections. It’s a shame people spend hours a day doing that instead of focusing more on the message they want send out to the Steemit community abou the type of person they are and what they have to give.

Thank you as always providing an excellent blog!

Absolutely, agreed.

Thanks so much for the our kind words--I'm going to keep plugging away at creating content that I hope will add value and try my best to create meaningful exchanges. It's definitely difficult when there's so much generic spamming (as you mentioned).

I really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment (and connect!).

I’ve seen some really big upvotes in comments before. If you end up commenting in a blog that catchers their eye they more than likely have read it. The issue a lot of the bigger people have here is everyone wants there attention. They simply have far more people trying impress them and get on there good side then most. These are great suggestions and I recommend them.

Correct, I myself earned around $25 for one comment, a one line comment.
Hope my luck continues :P

This will be useful to me, I think #2 is the most powerful - creating a quick conversation/interaction :)

Awesome. And it's really not hard to share a genuine response to something--that's a good place for a conversation to start.

Thanks for swinging by here again--I appreciate it!

Congratulations @jessicakluthe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48