Participating In Steem Platforms Other Than Steemit: An Epiphany

in #steem7 years ago


The Steem Tree of Life

I've been pretty active on Steemit for my time here (especially for the last two months or so). My goal was at least one post a day (at first except Sunday, but now every day), and I've stuck to that. I'm proud of myself. It hasn't been easy, but I think this is the best way to grow on the platform and in the community.

But now I'm beginning to look for ways to expand. Pretty soon I'll be launching my own community (by 'soon' I hope by months' end, but it may be by years' end). I want to keep things kind of mysterious until I can talk about it in more detail.

I've been keeping my eyes on all of the really cool projects and platforms being built on the Steem blockchain. About a week ago I published this article talking about the Steemit App Center. You should take a look at it for the best Steemit Apps (or go to the full list).

But I intentionally left out the larger platform projects happening on the Steem blockchain because I felt like they deserved their own post. I'm just going to mention them briefly here: I sort of feel like I should wait to talk about them until I have more experience.

Without further ado, other major projects currently on the Steem blockchain are:

D-Tube: a YouTube-like platform that is made for posting decentralized videos using something called IPFS. (creators: @heimindanger & @mkt)

Zappl: A Twitter-like platform built on Steem. It's currently in beta, with apps for iOS and Android on the way. (creator: @steemitqa)

dMania: This is a 9Gag-like platform for meme posting. (creator: @zombee)

ChainBB: This is a forum posting front-end built on the Steem blockchain. (creator: @jesta)

Utopian.io: A platform leveraging the Steem blockchain to reward contributors to open-source projects. (creator: @elear)

DSound: A SoundCloud-like built on the Steem blockchain. (creator: @prc)

SteemPi: An Amazon Fire Stick/Apple TV-like software package available for download to Raspberry Pi. Potentially the future of television.

All of these projects are super cool. People are out there pouring their blood, sweat and tears into building not just the next generation of social media and sharing apps, but a new epoch for the internet and, indeed, humanity.

So I thought, I get on this shit.

I've heard some concerns voice about 'cluttering up accounts' since at this point anything you post on one of these front ends will automatically show up on your Steemit blog (although, apparently, not vice versa which is nice to know). At first I thought that might be a bit of a deal breaker, but then I realized something: unless you're an Orca or Whale with tons of bots voting for you there's probably nothing to worry about. The reason is simple: no one gives a fuck what you do. At the very least they won't be offended by it (unless it's shit posts and spam, but I mean that always applies).

So it's time to make the dive into the other arenas on the Steem blockchain and get a feel for what they're really about. Right now it'll probably be mostly touch and go, since my main mission is to post to Steemit and comment more. Steemit and Steem sort of have a way of consuming a significant portion of your life, and I think I've reached that tipping point.

As the song goes, I'm lovin' every minute of it.

Follow: @jenkinrocket

Tuesday, November 14th, 2017

Source: Image made by yours truly. You're free to use it, as long as you source me with credit :).

Sort:  

Looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85