What’s The Difference Between Steem & Steemit?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)


I remember one of the first things that confused me when I started using Steemit, was how Steem and Steemit were different. It’s actually more straightforward than you’d expect, so let’s take a quick look.

Steem is a blockchain that stores content and rewards users with the cryptocurrency STEEM. You can think of the Steem blockchain as a collection of data that’s stored in multiple places so that it’s safe and can’t be altered. It has some rules built into it that let us earn rewards by creating and upvoting content.

Steemit is a window into this blockchain. All it does is display data from the blockchain and allow us to interact with it in a user friendly way. It’s that simple!

So when you upvote on Steemit.com you’re just interacting with the blockchain. And if you’re watching this video on DTube, then you’re interacting with the blockchain there too. There are also other sites like Busy.org, Utopian.io, and Steepshot that are similar windows into the Steem blockchain.

Hopefully this video helped you understand the difference. If you’re confused about anything I talked about here, please let me know in the comments!

Thanks for watching 😀


Music by Chillhop: http://youtube.com/chillhopdotcom
Globuldub - Foreign Exchange: https://soundcloud.com/globuldub/foreign-exchange


follow_jeffbernst.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great post Jeff, It is quite helpful for beginners.

I appreciate you for creating a video series for beginners, Lots of Steemians are writing posts, but I think, video explanation is slightly more helpful than the actual text post.

These days, I am slightly busy with my family. Looking forward for your upcoming video posts.

Thanks for watching @mslifesteem!

Yeah, personally I prefer videos for this type of thing so I figured it might be helpful to just make them myself. 😀

Yeah, exactly, you're right. Keep the videos coming!

Thanks. You are my new guru on STEEM. Subscribed

Haha, I'm still pretty new too! But glad I could help 😀

As a new user, I was looking for such an explanation , thank you

No problem! Thanks for watching! 😀

i like this video.
thanks for public shearing.💜✋

Thanks for watching!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54