Is the price of Steem ever going to go back up?

in #steem7 years ago

The price of Steem has been heading in the wrong direction for a long time now.

You might be thinking "Hey $0.86 isn't too bad...... I remember when it was $0.70."

You might be thinking it was $0.25 not that long ago too.

I remember a few months ago when it was $2.40.

Some of you even remember when it was $4 or more.

That gives us the idea that it might eventually become more than $4 again.

In fact most people were saying that by the end of the year Steem would be worth $10 easily.

Well that's not going to happen.

Sometimes you have to go down before you come back up.

Having said that I'm seeing some things in the platform that I'm not especially fond of.

People are reposting things that they posted a long time ago and getting away with it.

It's not that big of a deal to me.

However, people aren't really following each other much.

They are just pretending to.


Source: Giphy.com

People aren't communicating nearly as often as they used to a few months ago either.

The community as a whole isn't functioning the way that it's supposed to.

I think one of the biggest issues I'm noticing is that a lot of the big whales have simply left.

I'm not sure if their money is still in the system or if they took it when they left.

I'm not going to name any names but if you've been here for like a year or so then you remember the whale votes you used to get and how they disappeared right around Hard Fork 19.

I can tell you that I usually get a couple of dollars with my posts.

Once upon a time there was a chance that my post could be worth $10 or $20 or even $50.

Nowadays that's extremely unlikely but I know I can count on my $2 or so.

Of course if the price of Steem continues to decline then that $2 is going to amount to much less as well.

It's somewhat disconcerting to even ask the question but I'm curious what you think.

Is the price of Steem ever going to go back up?

Sort:  

I really hope this place won't die out

I know. There's not another place like it that I've seen.

Exactly, it's so innovative and unique

I agree that we are in a funk. The site just isn't that interesting right now.
It feels like work. Show up each day and post, vote, and comment...

But it isn't fun by any means. I hope it will turn around.

That's exactly it. I used to look so forward to coming home and posting on here but now it just seems like a real trudge. Also, toothpaste green? I wish we could have voted on that.

Yea they should have let 3rd parties develop themes for it I agree.

I've been here two months. I noticed a significant drop in activity a couple of weeks ago when everyone was losing their posts.

It seems the only upvotes minnows get from whales are the ones they pay or lobby for.

It didn't used to be that way. Most of the people like me that have over 60 or even 70 rep were getting a lot of whale votes when they were minnows but now that the ocean is filling up it's harder to swim. Not only that but it seems like the whales just climbed right out and went into a different body of water.

I was thinking the same thing the other day - unfortunately I do not have enough knowledge to give an oppinion, but I surely hope it does go up - it is a welcome extra income in the economic situation we are in Good post - resteeming

Thank you.

I came in this May so less than 6 months. I can't seem to be able to keep my 400 plus followers to view my blog let along get me a vote. I post everyday. So I guess my stuff is not up to snuff. But then why are the 400 still here and increasing. I guess human nature. They only really care about themselves.

That's true. They follow you so that you will follow them or something like that or maybe they're just fake followers. To tell you the truth I only have a few actual followers myself.

really super & mind touch blog i like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68503.89
ETH 2535.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52