Don't buy Steem on Poloniex.

in #steem7 years ago

I probably don't need to tell you that.

You might be thinking that with the falling price of BTC maybe you should put your coins in some other places.

You know......... just to hedge your bets.......... maybe short BTC a little bit using another coin.

Maybe you plan to ride it out and just hold your Bitcoin.

That's a reasonable idea as well.

I personally thought it was good idea to put some money into Steem.

I love the platform and I have full faith that it will come back up.

So I took some BTC and put it onto Poloniex which, despite everyone else's objections, is an exchange I use on occasion.

After purchasing my liquid Steem and then attempting to put it into my account and power it up I got this message.

Steem is currently under maintenance and is experiencing wallet and or network issues.

Deposits and withdrawals are disabled until a solution can be found.

This message has been up there for days.

I'm starting to wonder if I'm ever going to get to put my Steem on here.

If you think about it, by not having my Steem on this platform and not powering it up Poloniex is actually costing me money.

Sure it might only be like a quarter but that's still a quarter.

So take my advice for now.

Don't buy Steem on Poloniex.

Sort:  

fear is a weakness just buy for exactly the same amounts of what you allready have to compromise when it's too low for you to handle

I've bought steem multiple times at multiple amounts. As for BTC and shorting........ that's not fear that's using your head. If you can use this opportunity to short BTC than you are likely to make several hundred dollars.

hmm yes but the june gain is now corrected. I think some crypto is way too overvalued, especially the projects that haven't got any reliable product yet. For other where I truly blieve in are the decentralized versions of products that are part of our daily use or source of info which will be used by everybody who is using kind like services now. I believe in the long term so I don't really care about a price cutting investments in half or erase them. Like in the stockmarket is amount of share the keyplayer that brings return in the longterm, that's warren buffets key strategy btw where he then adds that dividents are the factors that cause reinvestment capital. but for now, everything is a little too much speculations and hype.. just find a portfolio of a couple of coins, or 10 or so to invest in small amounts over time.. that's how i'm playing this here.. when it goes down a lot I just buy for the same amount of value each time and have averaged down and much much more coins when someday the market returns to grow and the projects are much more developed and widely usefull and adopter (Y) I do also small amounts under 200 dollar each time, because half of what I started with is already gone up in smoke but I will keep buying with the money I can afford to mis for a long time

Actually you can buy Steem directly from your account wallet .

  1. buy /transfer Bitcoin into your steem wallet. Can be found on your main steem page.
  2. click the button "BUY STEEM OR STEEM POWER" it will provide you the bitcoin address to transfer the currency into your steem bitcoin wallet
  3. Coose amount of STEEM or STEEM POWER you like to buy on https://blocktrades.us/
    Note that there are no fee when you are purchasing this way

The steem wallet does not hold Bitcoin. If you try to transfer Bitcoin into your steem wallet you will lose it.

@jeezzle, thank you for sharing your experience. I have been asking time and again where is the best place to buy Steem from using USD especially now when Steem price is low, I would like to power up. Any ideas?

Well it's tough to buy it using USD instead of Bitcoin or something like that. I think the only place to really use USD that's fairly reputable is Changelly.com. If you were going to us bitcoin I would say blocktrades.us.

I have used blocktrade, I tried using changely but I exchange was too high

Yeah I just checked changelly and for some reason the exchange is really high right now......It isn't usually that high.

this is going on for the past two weeks -another poloneix scam - thanks for letting me know

It happen to me too they are legally scamming us. They create excuses like that to rub us of good opportunity to earned big.

I notice a lot of the big companies do that.

They say put your coin in the wallet don't don't let it sleep in the exchange. Sooner Or later that exchange will be shutdown

I hope you find it useful.

Polo has been so brutal for people lately. Thanks for the post.

Definitely. You know I have to wonder.......... what is really going on with Poloniex?

“Unbuttered toast is a substance half complete, and to be forced to eat it in that state is necessarily to feel deprived.” - John Thorne, 'Pot on the Fire' (2000) 🍞

I haven't had any good experiences with Polniex. The lost my money for a month. And I've seen the same message you got. So far Bittrex has treated me well. No problems and easy to use.

Every time I hear poloniex mentioned it's all bad. Thanks for the heads up 👍🏻

Definitely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70