Let's Talk About Kendrick Lamar's 2018 Grammy Performance!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Kung Fu Kenny Murdered His Grammy's Performance


https://d39spby0ctvlmz.cloudfront.net/uploads/2014/02/KL3.jpg

I am going to get this out of the way at the beginning of the article. If you do not like Kendrick Lamar we have a legitimate problem. No excuse to not like King Kendrick.

ANYWAYS, Kendrick Lamar gave a fantastic Grammy's performance. Except for the appearance of U2 on his performance of "XXX", I know they are featured on the track but I just have an issue with U2 for some reason. PLEASE, do not hold it against me.

It came as no surprise that Kendrick Lamar performed his certified banger, "DNA". Everyone knows the song and when Kendrick performed it at the Grammy's, not a single person was sitting still in the entirety Madison Square Garden.

However, something from Kendrick Lamar's performance literally made my jaw drop. Check out this clip from, Kendrick's performance and see what I am talking about!


Watch Kendrick's full performance above

The part I am want to talk about begins with Dave Chappelle "interrupting" Kendrick's performance by saying, “Hi, I’m Dave Chappelle. And I just wanted to remind the audience that the only thing more frightening than watching a black man being honest in America is being an honest black man in America.”

A lot of meaning can be taken from this, but that's for you, the individual, to decide for yourself.

Kendrick resumes his set by performing his verse from Rich the Kid's song, "New Freezer". Then, he begins his verse from his most recent feature on the track, "King's Dead" which is part of the soundtrack for Marvel's upcoming film, "Black Panther".

Kendrick is then "interrupted" again by my man, Dave Chappelle. Chappelle said, “Is this on cable? CBS? Because it looks like he’s singing and dancing, but this brother is taking enormous chances.”

Again, a lot of meaning can come from this, but that's for you, the individual, to decide for yourself.

Kendrick picks up right where he left off in "King's Dead", but this time he is surrounded by a bunch of dancers wearing all red, doing the craziest dance moves I have ever seen. Then, BOOM, Kendrick just starts firing off bars into the mic and after each statement is complete, a gunshot sounds off and one of the dancers drops to the floor. Not to mention, the insane pyrotechnics (fire) that went on during the performance. At this point at of the clip, my mouth was gaping open and I was feeling all sorts of warm and tingly on the inside. This is a telltale sign that Kendrick put on an out of this world hip-hop performance.


Written By: James Geraghty


Also, Kendrick deserved album of the year. Not Bruno Mars. I mean what in the hell was that? Talk about a total hatchet job by the voters.


Check me out on Twitter: https://twitter.com/King_James_G

Check out my About.Me: https://about.me/jamesgeraghty

Check out the official JayG Entertainment Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jaygentertainment/

Check out the official JayG Entertainment Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/jayghiphop

Sort:  

great performance he has given

Could not agree more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55