You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My take on Self-voting, Vote-buying and Reward Pool Rape

in #steem6 years ago (edited)
I wrote 'non-linear' because there was some discussion around other 'curves' - sigmoid for example. I think there never was anything wrong with n^2.

I think you know I like the idea of a sigmoid reward curve as it is getting more flat in the end than n^2 which avoids extreme rewards, but anyway: you are completely right that the linear reward curve makes self-voting just too attractive and should be changed to anything non-linear again!

Even if it is not the exact topic of your article I should add that also the restriction to four fully rewarded posts per day to prevent (self-upvoted) spam posts was very reasonable in my opinion. Who is really writing more than four good posts per day? At least I could never achieve that ... (and yes, yes, I know: if I can't that doesn't mean nobody can ... but I just doubt that many can do that. :-) )

As @timcliff emphasized correctly in one of his recent comments most well intended measures can be circumvented with some efforts but I still think at least it shouldn't be made that easy to exploit the system ...

Sort:  

Sigmoid looks great on a first glance, but at which point should the slope start to decline ? ...

That huge problem aside, it would counter the idea of getting more influence over the rewards, the more popular a post gets.

The 4 post a day limit never applied to comments, so it is not even a question how to circumvent such a limitation for abuse.

Sigmoid looks great on a first glance, but at which point should the slope start to decline ? ...

Yes, this had to be discussed. I think one could reach a consensus here ...
One could actually also let the sigmoid curve become linear (after x has exceeded a certain value)! You see I am far from having an elaborated solution, but am contributing so many highly interesting thoughts, haha. :-) I am just an ordinary Steemit-user giving the implementation into the hands of professionals who are getting paid for doing so. :-))) (Read that with a twinkle in your eye ...:)

That huge problem aside, it would counter the idea of getting more influence over the rewards, the more popular a post gets.

At a certain point, yes. However one could select kind of a 'stretched' sigmoid function, so that one could receive 'quite some' upvotes before the flattening takes place.

The 4 post a day limit never applied to comments, so it is not even a question how to circumvent such a limitation for abuse.

One could set a limit for the number of fully rewarded comments as well. In addition one could limit the maximum percentage of voting power which can be used to upvote comments. What about a restriction to (let's say) 15 % of the own voting power for comments?

I fear all those complicated solutions will get in the way of SMTs and other possible applications of STEEM.

Keep it simple.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62