You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to fix the extreme inequality on steem

in #steem8 years ago

Perhaps one option could be to lock more of the payments into long term SP? In that way the more successful authors would be investing their time into building the platform for the long term? Right now, the focus by many (not all!) people on the site seems to be 'how much cash can I earn and cash out'? It's inevitable I guess, but such a shame when this idea has so much more to offer.

It's the first time I've seen such an elegant, simple micropayment system at work on the Internet, which wasn't artificially funded (e.g. MP3.com) and hopefully it will do a lot to redress the appaling slow drift of the web or walled gardens towards kittens and trash.

Sort:  

While that would lock more people in the platform so to speak, I'm not sure how that would help with redistributing the power.

I agree that it's a very convenient micropayment platform though. It just makes me wonder how awesome the same thing could be if everyone's vote had an equal weight. Hell, I would even pay a monthly $10 subsciption if it allowed me to distribute 100 x $0.1 votes and granted me the opportunity to receive rewards for my content.
But here I would have to spend way more to have a noticable effect, because I would not only have to pay for the power I receive, but also indirectly for the power earlier investors (and the devs) received and continue to receive.

As with all these things, I think the problem with giving everyone equal weight is you give the bad actors a way to band together to game the system too easily. You will always need some form of admin/moderator/control function with open systems like this, surely? Letting some people pay to vote just opens up a new can of worms, since it disenfranchises those who can't afford the fees. It's tricky stuff, isn't it? :)

I think there are way more good actors than malicious ones. And the reputation system along with the power of the community is great for dealing with bad actors.

As for paying to vote: You can kind of already do that on steem. It just requires hunreds of dollars of investment to have even a $0.01 vote. And that's still pretty much nothing compared to the $300 votes of whale bots that make or break posts.

But yeah, it most definitely is tricky stuff :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45