Steem, You are making me sad... Hardfork 21 - EIP =BAD IDEAsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago

EIPbadidea.jpg

Steem, You are making me sad... Hardfork 21 - EIP = BAD IDEA

Here is my open letter to Steem / Steemit about the upcoming hardfork 21 - Namely, the Economic Improvement Proposal (EIP)


If you do not know what I am talking about read this : https://steemit.com/hf21/@timcliff/hardfork-21-steem-proposal-system-sps-economic-improvement-proposal-eip

Let me start by saying, I have no issues with the other parts on the hardfork, just the (EIP) that deal with the convergent linear rewards curve.

I was on the fence about this and am trying my hardest to see the light. I see the thought process... and yea, I get it. lets push curated content, so give those who curate more funds. I get it ... Then I read this post.

https://steemit.com/exyle/@exyle/all-the-different-reward-curves-explained-in-an-easy-to-understand-way-and-how-they-effect-you?fbclid=iwar2n2dekfutufwezozc8swmceuri2kxf1xtg23z-zay9xazhgt5fnuhh3og

OMG. Having the numbers laid out like that. It showed me whats going to be happening in ways I can understand ... STEEM WTF? Who do we need to slap and wake up? I feel like you are trying to pull a fast one.

Yea, you are smart... but like...

  1. This idea was introduced less then a month ago as a long term goal, now its being rolled out???
  2. We are struggling with keeping people on a platform, this is going to drive more people away.
  3. The Platform is VERY complex already (Steem, SP, SBD, Savings, Vshares, Rshares, soon SMT's as well.. so many keys to use, reputation)...
  4. Building a network and friends here is hard.
  5. Earning money here is hard if you have no SP (*But it can be done as it is with the linear Curve.)

Yes, change has to happen, I agree... but with this EIP, you are in SO many ways, killing any 3rd world blogger from jumping on steem, you are making a very high fence to leap over just to play with the other kids.

Lets look at a use case of a new user to the platform POST EIP who is not wealthy.

  • They sign up and wait 2 weeks to get an account.
  • They log in and have nothing.
  • They post, and get nothing
  • They make some friends who vote for them, and they STILL get nothing
  • They run out of credits fast
  • Disillusioned they move on to something else. (*Lost another one)

I can see SO many people getting hell'a disillusioned after a short time, dam I was disillusioned when I joined, but fought REAL hard to understand Steem/Steemit and make it work. I powered up to see small funds start to come in, got excited and then I decided to invest more (*thanks to the linear Curve.).

Post EIP you want me to believe that with this convergent linear rewards curve we will see any improvement? Dont we have bigger things to worry about?

Lets focus on:

  • On boarding issues
  • Streamlining Steemit
  • User Experience
  • Private Messaging
  • Robust Search features (As it is now, its hard to search for posts from people with low reputation)...
  • Add Emjoi support (I think that alone will boost the user base)
  • A market place to sell goods

Also, yes... Steem and Steemit are not the same thing. Yes, you want people not to see Steem as a social media platform but like a bank system of sorts... but no matter the case, to Thrive --> WE NEED TO FOCUS ON GETTING MORE PEOPLE ON STEEMIT AND USING STEEM.

But no. You - STEEM ... ... you want to make a HUGE wall, that will require new people on this blockchain to build a large following before they can squeak out a small payment, while well established bloggers will start to make less.

YOU ARE KILLING THE MIDDLE AND LOWER CLASS. Plankton in an ecosystem feeds all above, THEY are the driving force, only when a whale shits do little plankton eat. --> Trickle down economics do not work. .. I cant believe that people still think that if you make wealthy people more wealthy they will help people below them... WTF... its like Republicans are running Steem, next you will be telling me you want to put Trump in charge of steem... If you want a thriving system, WE NEED to make it easy for new users to earn and grow.

Lets Compromise

  • Ok, reduce the author pay, but keep the Linear Curve (*IT IS THE MOST FAIR).
  • Focus on other more pressing issues.
  • At leas with the linear Curve it makes sense. More SP, more voting power and value.

I am a supporter of Steem and just powered up another 500SP yesterday, I want to power up more.. .but with this new Bull Shit.. I am wavering and debating powering down to moving along to other systems like the EOS platform or the Tron platform. I WANT steem to thrive but this is not the way.

Yes, this is a long post but I am very upset about the EIP / convergent linear rewards curve and, no one has shown ANY reasons or easy to understand posts about, why and how the EIP will benefit anyone but the top. STEEM if you are their you better post some dam compelling reasons why the EIP is good, or hold off on it till it can be better explained and more thought put into it.

Thank you

Sort:  

This post had received 10.84% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

I upvoted and Resteemed @jacuzzi.

I will stay either way since I think my content is good enough to compete with the best but if EIP is implimented.. it will suck!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83