KYC For Steemians? HOW?

in #steem5 years ago

Remember the airdrop that went on with Byteball (Gbytes)?

Well if you don't remember it, then you may not have taken advantage of this opportunity to get "free crypto" and not just any crypto, you get Gbytes which at the moment are about $30 each! (give or take)

For those of you who haven't yet taken advantage of this opportunity you can find the referral link at the bottom of this post, as it is only via the referral link that you can get the airdrop!

Enough about that, what I want to address today is the KYC option!


KNOW YOUR CUSTOMER (KYC)


Basically most of the exchanges out there nowadays insist upon KYC verification.

A legitimate ID and a selfie are usually all it takes to take care of it.

Some of the crypto projects out there are already incorporating KYC.

Why?

Well, there are multiple reasons, but one of the most logical reasons is that the world of crypto is finally being accepted by governments of this world and the laws that regulate crypto are actually beginning to be voted in.
The other logical reason is to prevent abuse by users, no multiple accounts and circle-jerking etc etc etc
Whatever the reasons may be, it is happening and no matter what any of us think about it, it is reality!

So, how can we Steemians at this moment in time get KYC certification as Steemians and not have to go about changing the entire Steem code?

Some may say that it is NOT POSSIBLE!

WELL IT IS.

HOW?

Simple.

Get your user account attested on Byteball.

Then get the KYC process completed on there.

and there you have it.

Your Steem username is attested, your KYC is attested and need I say anymore?

Of course this isn't on the Steem blockchain, but in my next post I will be addressing that, because I literally can't fit it all into one post.

So here I am addressing the fact that WE CAN ATTEST AND KYC OUR STEEM USERNAMES!


I know that many are skeptic about any verification of identity for anything, that is fine, it is your choice, there is no reason to do it if you feel that strongly about it.

But it would be nice to see as a reference in any persons "Resume" or list of information that may affect us in making some very important decisions such as "Who to vote for" for example.
Some people like to see that information, it means something to many people out there, to know about the people who are managing their funds and investments.

i.e. as soon as I finished my KYC I was given the following message:

" Now your real name is attested, see the attestation unit:
https://explorer.byteball.org/#XWHK5SFAvuqPF8E+eJT+N8lfMfPyVGdTeHm1HH8mhVk= "

So it's listed on the blockchain, confirmed and sealed, I would say 'Til death do us part' but it's on there for ever, no messing around, that is the beauty of blockchain!


So now you may be wondering HOW TO GO ABOUT IT?

Well, all you need is one of the following documents:

Passport,
Drivers License
or a National ID Card

&

You will need to take a "selfie", so put your makeup on and do your hair!

Get this ready prior to doing it, as you will have a 30 minute time limit in which to take the photos once you get the ball rolling.


The attestation fee is $8 worth of Gbyte, but you will get the $8 back + $12 of crypto.

or someone can send you a referral link for the $8, which gets deducted from that persons wallet and you can go about doing the attestation for free.

However, if you use up the referral and do not do the attestation or you take dodgy photo's where the photos are not crystal clear and the writing in the ID is not legible, too bad so sad, you just knocked $8 out of someones pocket!

Why would anyone sponsor you with $8 worth of crypto?

Well, basically, they too get their $8 of Gbyte back and another $12 of Gbyte in a smart contract.

The smart contracts are set to release the funds in 12 months.

Simple enough. A nice little financial incentive for both parties.

PS. If you know me and you are wanting to do the KYC and get the free Gbytes, feel free to contact me, you know where to find me. I'll be sincerely grateful for the fact that you shared the love with me and made it possible for a fellow Steemian to earn some free crypto too!


Some notes from my experience:

a) Do the photos on your mobile phone.

I did it the first time on my laptop and it didn't work, had to pay an extra $8 of Gbytes for my second attempt. Yep it cost me $16 in total.

Well, not really, it cost me $8 less 30% BECAUSE I AM AN ATTESTED STEEMIAN!

;) ;) nudge, nudge!!!!!

The second time, I simply copy/pasted the link from the bot (in my Gbyte wallet) to my mobile phone and did the photographs with my mobile and it all worked like a charm.

So learn from my experiences, don't bugger it up by thinking that your computer is a supercomputer, not worth the time or stress.

Secondly, make sure that you choose the right country that your documents are from.
In the top right hand corner of the KYC (photography portion of the process) you have to choose your country. That means the country from where the document is from, not where you are physically located!

Make sure to follow the steps as dictated in your Gbyte wallet and you won't go wrong.

I don't think that there is much more that I can add to this post, except to announce a post in the coming days that should get the pot stirred up!

IN A GOOD WAY!


For those Steemians out there who haven't yet done the airdrop, here is my referral link:

https://steem-byteball.org/#ZV6EN3EF4TJTFRKDWWJIQXWU76JROV3F

GO 4 IT, THE GBYTES ARE OUT THERE, WAITING FOR YOU TO CLAIM THEM!


STEEM ON

Yours truly




Sort:  

In cryptoverse, it is a big risk, give your personal data to any legal, but basically grey-zone company. Okay, you do it in exchanges, and you have a hope, they keep it safe.

But deploy all of your identity data ONTO A TRANSPARENT, free to read blockchain, this is not risk, this is freakin' stupid thing.

Have you heard about the identity-steal?

The data is given to a company that does KYC for exchanges.

Not to "Byteball".

I guess I didn't explain that clearly enough.

The fact of the matter is that the success of the KYC process is registered on the blockchain and the "bot" that does it confirms it on the blockchain.

Ahm, okay, thats clear, and sounds much safer :)

Im just imagine that many id-card pictures in blocks :D

I'm glad that you commented with objective criticism, I am not the best of "writers" out there and often what is "crystal clear to me" is not relayed effectively when I put it on paper (on the screen).

Definitely appreciate the fact that you called me up on it, I wish more people would do that on topics such as this.

Cheers.

This is no problem.
If someone want to understand you, her/he can :)

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Last time byteball didn't require kyc!?

Posted using Partiko Android

The airdrop that went on for Steemians doesn't require it.

This is an option that is available there and can be utilized by Steemians too.

i.e.

Our Steem account (user name) is attested.

our account there does the KYC.

Thus we have KYC attestation and it is confirmed on the blockchain there.

So we as Steemians with our Steem usernames have proof of KYC.

Opens up doors to so many more options out on the market, if we use this option. If we just ignore it and no one capitalizes on it all, well then it is useless.

;)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 185 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36